PDA

View Full Version : [Deck] Troll Stompy (G/W Beats)

Pellefant
01-12-2009, 07:26 PM
Hi everybody! This is my first posting on the source and also my first "primer". The deck is a g/w aggro-control-ish beatdown deck that I've been tuning for a couple of years now. To begin with let's take a look at the list I'm currently running:

// Lands (23)
4 Windswept Heath
2 Wooded Foothills
2 Savannah
1 Taiga
2 Forest
2 Plains
2 Ancient Tomb
2 Treetop Village
2 Horizon Canopy
4 Wasteland

//Dudes (21)
3 Llanowar Elves
3 Birds of Paradise
4 Troll Ascetic
3 Call of the Herd
2 Iwamori of the Open Fist
3 Jötun Grunt
3 Eternal Witness

//Utility (16)
2 Engineered Explosives
2 Sword of Fire and Ice (SoFI)
2 Umezawa's Jitte
1 Seal of Primordium
1 Seal of Cleansing
1 Sylvan Library
3 Mana Tithe
4 Swords to Plowshares (StP)

//Sideboard
SB 1 Engineered Explosives (EE)
SB 2 Pithing Needle
SB 3 Relic of Progenitus (RoP)
SB 2 Worship
SB 3 Gaddock Teeg
SB 4 Krosan Grip

I really like this deck and list, the only card I'm not completely satisfied with is Sylvan Library but I just don't know what to replace it with. On the other hand it interacts nicely with fetchlands and can draw you some cards occasionally, the draw ability is of course best when you're facing control. I ran top in this slot for a short while but I feel the library is superior. The deck is really solid and a very good choice to play in a unknown meta because it really doesn't have any terrible matchups, altough some combo decks are hard to beat.

*Results*

I've played it in three tournaments so far, and put up respectable finishes each time. One top8 in a landstill heavy meta, I got knocked out by uwgb-landstill.
I just missed out on the t8 in one of swedens largest legacy tournaments to date (70+ players), me and one of the players from our "team" had to play for t8-spot. He beat me with his aggro-rock and continued to win the entire tournament.