PDA

View Full Version : SCD - Chaos Orb - Proposed errata for local rules play.

Royal Ass.
09-12-2011, 06:32 PM
I started playing magic back in 94 and Chaos Orb was considered one of the best and most feared cards. I remember getting all my lands blown up by Chaos Orb multiple times. The rule at the time was that once someone played Chaos Orb you could not move your cards and when Chaos Orb landed on a card it destroyed all the cards underneath it. This was a problem for a dorky 6th grader like myself because I stacked my lands on top of each other.

Now that I have given you some history about my experience with Chaos Orb I want to discuss a local rule errata for playing this card amongst your commander group.

The first question to ask is; Why do you want to play with Chaos Orb?
For me much of commander is the nostalgia element that it provides me. My deck has many of the old school cards that I wanted to own back when I was a kid by my weekly $5 allowance wouldn't allow. Chaos Orb is one of those cards.

There are two reasons that Chaos Orb is banned in constructive Vintage Play. The first reason is because it messed with the playing field because people don't want to have their cards too close to each other so as not to get X for oned. The second reason is because it requires manual dexterity.

The manual dexteritiy reason should not really apply to commander because it is a casual format and hell, shuffling a 100 card deck is a lot more physically difficult than dropping a card onto the table.

The real issue when addressing an errata to make Chaos Orb legal is the first issue dealing with playing space and spreading out cards. Thus to address that issue I propose the following errata: