PDA

View Full Version : First piece of power

Pages : [1] 2

Koby
08-03-2012, 01:07 PM
What was your first piece of power, if you already own it?
What would be your first piece, if you don't already own?

My first power was a Mox Sapphire that I won through a Legacy tournament at Comic Odyssey in Pasadena, CA. I got to the finals with an old Bant list (with only 1 GSZ, oh myyyy) back in March of 2011, and offered the buyout to my friend Harduvel. From there, I got the "bug" and started on a buying spree that finished in GP Anaheim at the end of May 2012. Now I'm fully powered, and mostly broke. :tongue:

lordofthepit
08-03-2012, 01:28 PM
My first pieces of power were a beat-as-hell Library of Alexandria (it was Power then!) and a creased Alpha Time Walk that I got in 2000 when I was a freshman in high school, which I bought from my friend for $20 and $45 each. No one played with those cards, and he had no interest in selling it on eBay; I didn't have any use for it.

Now that I think of it, I bought a Time Vault from that same friend about a year before that when we were in middle school. But that card was useless then, so I think I sold it pretty quickly (probably back to him again). I wanted more Cursed Scrolls at the time!

Anyway, I traded the LoA and the Time Walk to a store for $180 and 4 Tropical Islands in 2006. I had quit the game and hadn't played for several years, but I knew if I ever were to play again, it would be Legacy. I still didn't want to touch eBay and I figured I'd never use those cards, so I didn't mind losing value on the trade. Probably in my favor now.

I ended up buying an Unlimited Mox Ruby (probably VG) for $225 in 2009, but I ended up flipping that for a bunch of smaller Legacy staples after realizing I wouldn't buy it. It had someone's initials written on it in regular red ink. Eww.

No power right now. Probably not for a while.

Arianrhod
08-03-2012, 01:38 PM