PDA

View Full Version : Finding My Personality in Magic

Spellchucker
02-07-2015, 08:57 PM
First of all, greeting to everyone who may post. I hope some of you out there can help me get back into the game, and do so in a correct manner. I open my first pack of Magic back in college in 2003 and played more or less casual games with the occasional FNM. I left the game when I graduated a few years later, then picked it up again about four years ago. I was so lost that I tried to build all kinds of decks just to keep up and stay in the game. Again, I dropped the game out of lack of time and the frustration of never quite keeping up. I played standard mostly. This brings me to today.

I uncovered my boxes of cards, about to sell them all away and just realized how much a part of me enjoyed the game and friendships I made throughout those years. I want to play again, but I had to first realize my frustrations came as a result of blindly approaching the game and just plain being a bad player. This is a good, liberating thing because it means I can start all over and move forward. So many bad players make excuses or don't overvalue their "knowledge" about the game which creates baggage. Although it took years, I dropped mine and realized the real problem was that I chased too much cardboard without ever finding out what type of player I am. So here comes the first of what is sure to be many questions to the community.

How can I determine what play-style and deck configuration would be right for me to get back into the game? Is there a way I can find an archetype that's right for me? The easiest answer would be to get them all and pick and choose, but that mentality got me into a lot of trouble in the past. I'd rather go for quality over quantity and just build one or two.