PDA

View Full Version : Hateful Bears and Punishing Dark Mavericks

Spellchucker
02-10-2015, 07:58 PM
I am trying to put together a Modern GWx aggro build for FNM and maybe larger tournament play down the road. I am just getting started so I apologize in advance for being newbish. Work with me here. Anyhow, I kind of like several Modern GW build including Hatebears, Mavericks (dark and punishing), and GW auras. The issue is that some run on either vial like Kibler's 2013 list using Aether Vial and Voice of Resurgence. Some other lists don't use Vial or Voice. Instead they go with Linvala, Spellskite, and Scavenging Ooze. Also, some splash burn and others black removal. At any rate, it gets very confusing and I am trying to get the most bang for my buck. That being said, I am not going to restrict myself budget-wise so no worries there. I guess I need to ask it this way:

1. If I want to play GW aggro and don't know or will change my meta, what's the most consistent build?
2. Are using professional lists, like Kibler's, a bad idea for FNM?
3. If I want to be a GW aggro player, what staples are a must?
4. Who makes the best sleeves (stupid question I know, but I want to protect my cards)?
5. I see players on youtube making notes. What are they writing and how does it work? Should I be doing it or will I seem pretentious?
6. What do I need to for sure know going into my first FNM? What can I expect?
7. How can I become a better GW aggro player (inside tips or philosophy)?

I suspect I will get my fair share of silly replies, some merited for my newb questions; however, if anyone can really help, I'd appreciated it. Thanks in advance for sharing your time and experience.

Phoenix Ignition
02-10-2015, 11:37 PM
Welcome to Magic, as you're just starting out in Modern you may want to check out discussions on MTGSalvation as it is more active than here. This site is pretty much just Legacy players, some of whom play modern.