PDA

View Full Version : Untapping Cratures w/ Abilities



jaykaye05
10-30-2018, 12:32 AM
When you use Tree of Perdition:
Defender
{T}: Exchange target opponent's life total with Tree of Perdition's toughness.

Your opponent has 20 life before you tap Tree of Perdition. Assuming you tap this creature round 2 against a player and now the player's life total is 13, during your next turn, during your untap phase, you untap Tree of Perdition, does the player go back to 20?

If not what rule in Magic says that untapping makes the tapped ability null or reverse/ in contrast what rule in MTG says the tapped ability stays after the ability is used and not reversed?

Thank you,
Jay

Mr. Safety
10-30-2018, 07:07 AM
Easy one: if an effect only lasts until the end of a turn, it will specifically state that on the card. You don't revert back life totals, they will still be at 13. If the card doesn't state 'until end of turn' or something similar, it lasts indefinitely. Combo that with Triskaidekaphobia and you've got something fun.

On another note, there is a rules related forum on mtgthesource, it's on the forum home page: Card Interactions and Rulings. It's the best spot to ask rules questions.

Good luck and have fun!

Tylert
10-30-2018, 11:32 AM
Additional question: If you put hte ability on the stack, and then lowers the toughness of the tree of perdition to 0 (Tragic sleep for example).
When the ability resolves, do we check last known information on tree of perdition? If yes, then toughness was zero, and the opponent dies?

genuine fugazi
10-30-2018, 11:42 AM
7/13/2016
If Tree of Perdition isnít on the battlefield when the ability resolves, the exchange canít happen and the ability will have no effect. Notably, activating the ability and giving Tree of Perdition -13/-13 in response wonít cause your opponent to lose the game.

Tylert
11-05-2018, 11:37 AM
kk thks :) should have read gatherer indeed :)