PDA

View Full Version : [Deck] Cerebral Assassin?

Jaynel
10-07-2006, 07:50 PM
So basically, I've been messing around with Goblin Welder in Legacy for a few months now. Most of my decks started with abusing Mindslaver, and I tried to port Control Slaver to Legacy. I learned, however, that without Mana Drains and Moxen, the deck sucks. It was taking way to long to get the lock going and win the game.

I was looking through some old decklists, and I saw Cerebral Assassin. This deck originally had a transformational board to go from a Welder tricks mode into a Dragon build. Though I couldn't include the transformational board (some CA decks also don't run the Dragon SB), I began to mess around with the maindeck until I was happy with my results.

I'll start with the decklist, then explain my choices.

Taps For Mana (27):
4 Great Furnace
4 City of Brass
3 Vault of Whispers
4 Seat of the Synod
4 Gemstone Mine
4 Underground River
4 Mox Diamond

Taps For Busted Shit (4):
4 Goblin Welder

Taps to Beat Face (and does other stuff) (4):
2 Sundering Titan
1 Triskelion
1 Pentavus

Draw, Search, and Disruption (19):
4 Careful Study
4 Intuition
4 Thirst for Knowledge
3 Fact or Fiction
4 Duress

Good in Legacy? (2):
1 Possessed Portal
1 Mindslaver

Plan B (4):
4 Animate Dead

Sideboard:
1 Triskelion
1 Platinum Angel
1 Silent Arbiter
4 Propaganda
4 Pithing Needle
4 Chain of Vapor

The Manabase: The manabase gets whomped by Wasteland, yet it is also unaffected by Sundering Titan. Artifact lands help fuel Welder and Thirst for Knowledge. Mox Diamond provides some acceleration and cannot be wasted. Both the 5 color lands really help out without too much of a downside. City of Brass has never hurt that badly, and Gemstone Mine's counters are usually only used the first few turns until you can get a better manabase up.

The Other Really Good 1cc Goblin: