PDA

View Full Version : [Discussion] Best card against combo

Lord Xœvx Cvrsed
11-26-2006, 04:48 PM
Hey guys, i'm new in legacy and i want to know what's the best card against combo decks as solidarity and iggy pop.

calosso
11-26-2006, 05:10 PM
Against storm based combo stifle is very strong against them.

kicks_422
11-26-2006, 05:10 PM
A lot of options, actually... Here's some off the top of my head:

Stifle
Chalice of the Void
Pyrostatic Pillar
Tormod's Crypt (for Iggy)
Red Elemental Blast/Pyroblast (for Solidarity)
Glowrider
Rule of Law/Arcane Laboratory
Meddling Mage
Trinisphere
Sphere of Resistance
Duress/Cabal Therapy/Hymn to Tourach
Force of Will

There's really no BEST card, IMHO... To beat combo, you have to have at least one of the above cards printed and a whole deck that's equipped with a strategy to beat combo, either by countermagic (Thresh, also with MM's), racing them (Goblins), or outcomboing (using a combo deck yourself)

Zir
11-26-2006, 05:44 PM
It all depends on the deck you're playing, but they all have in common that no combo hate is any good without a solid clock. Chalice tends to be really backbreaking against both Solidarity and Iggy Pop, since they have to find bounce. It only sets them back about two to three turns though, so it's worthless if you can't put a clock on them.

noobslayer
11-26-2006, 08:25 PM
From a solidarity players view, I hate seeing threshold (of the UGw variety). It spells all sorts of speed bumps. Then comes chalice.

Lord Xœvx Cvrsed
11-27-2006, 10:45 AM
My deck is U/W control with enlightened tutors, so what's the best option?

Blair Phoenix
11-27-2006, 11:18 AM
My deck is U/W control with enlightened tutors, so what's the best option?

probably rule of law/arcane lab.

Phantom
11-27-2006, 12:38 PM
I would vote Meddling Mage. The fact that he is a clock takes care of 2 quotas.

rsaunder
11-27-2006, 03:21 PM