PDA

View Full Version : [History] Why was IBA DCI banned?

ApokalypseKid9
05-20-2007, 07:02 PM
Hey, I'm relatively new to legacy, and definately not part of the legacy community. I heard that IBA, Jack Elgin, had been banned from sanctioned tournaments, but specially unbanned for the GP, and I heard about why he was unbanned, but why was IBA banned in the first place? It's a question that's been bugging me while I was reading about columbus.

Peter_Rotten
05-20-2007, 07:07 PM
He has an irrational hatred of tables and tends to leap over and/or break them at any event in which he is slapped. Good thing for this GP, he was not slapped.

ApokalypseKid9
05-20-2007, 07:12 PM
What do you mean slapped? Like, somebody literally slapped him, so he broke and / or jumped over a table?

MattH
05-20-2007, 07:23 PM
What do you mean slapped? Like, somebody literally slapped him, so he broke and / or jumped over a table?

Somebody slapped him (don't know why) and he tried to jump over the table and attack back. He failed in this and was banned, I think for 2 years (which would have been more if he had succeeded).

Galroth
05-20-2007, 07:30 PM
In many peoples opinion, Jack's outburst was reprimanded in an excessive way. Seriously, 2 years for being pissed off when somebody just slapped you? I'd have torn the guys head off... and probably thrown him out a window, not just broken a table.

I think the DCI should be commended for re-assessing their verdict and offering IBA some leniency. I also think the DCI should be shot for this Flash debacle.

Peter_Rotten
05-20-2007, 07:31 PM
There are like weird twists to the story. He called Calasso a stupid Mexican or something. Some random guy slaps him. He loses a shoe while jumping over said table. Random guy gets some sort of a lesser sentence. I'm not 100% on all the details.

ApokalypseKid9
05-20-2007, 07:41 PM
I think this thread should be stickied to help all new members.

Rastadon
05-20-2007, 08:08 PM
Does it matter?

SpatulaOfTheAges