PDA

View Full Version : [Deck] I got it! I got it! I...

Inimically
10-24-2007, 06:08 PM
Hello, I am somewhat new to Source but not new to Magic by any means. I typically only play Type ll, but am starting to get into Legacy. A lot of the cards are unfamiliar to me as I am jst getting started. Now I don't have much for cards, and I would like an honest opinion on a deck I am considering putting together. **Constructive critism only please**

Deck List:

16 x Mountains

4 x Mogg Fanatic
4 x Grim Lavamancer
4 x Magus of the Scroll
4 x Gorilla Shaman
4 x Jackal Pup

4 x Rite of Flame
4 x Lightning Bolt
4 x Chain Lightning
2 x Umezawa's Jitte
2 x Price of Progress
4 x Incinerate
4 x Fireblast

Sideboard:

3 x Pithing Needle
3 x Pyroblast
3 x Shattering Spree
3 x Engineered Explosives
3 x Pyrostatic Pillar

Yes, I am aware that almost all of my spells cost R and that I could potentially lose to a turn 1 Chalice for 1, but that is why I am asking for constructive critism.

Michael Keller
10-24-2007, 06:18 PM
I am aware that almost all of my spells cost R and that I could potentially lose to a turn 1 Chalice for 1

You have no idea how often I've heard this over the years (probably with the rest of the Legacy community). Of course a well-timed Chalice will hurt, but that doesn't necessarily translate into an auto-loss for you. Remember with Shattering Spree: Replicate is not affected by the Chalice. There are ways to get around Chalice - and those are options I would highly consider for my sideboard. Just about any artifact destruction spell or built in ability on a creature would work. Just consider how tight you list and sideboard are for major events before competing.

ClearSkies
10-24-2007, 06:26 PM
With most of your stuff costing 1-2 mana, why rite of flame?

4x Magus of the Scrolls seems a bit much. Why the 4x Gorilla Shaman? Is your meta-game filled with low cost Artifact based decks (Affinity?)?