PDA

View Full Version : [Deck] UWx Countertop Solution

badjuju
10-29-2007, 01:40 AM
Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to Legacy and have been scouting both forums and tournament reports for decks that I like to play. When I found a list that featured Trinket Mages and Exalted Angels, I was immediately enticed. I had played Solution.dec for a while back in extended and was very fond of the toolbox package the deck offered. Coupled with the ability to fetch Sensei's Divining Top and continually abuse Counterbalance, this was the kind of deck I knew would find its port to Legacy. While more control than aggro, the deck plays a variety of 2/2 bears that have extrordinary abilities, coupled with cheap counterspells, cantrips, and removal before sealing the game with the countertop combo and a finisher of your choice. The deck can be directly compared to Threshold since its gameplan functions somewhat similarly. However, where Threshold has a more powerful ground plan, Countertop tries to toolbox for answers and run creatures that either disrupt, hold the ground, or draw cards instead.

Solution has various incarnations and can be tuned against various metagames. The base colors are generally blue and white with a splash of either black or red. The decks earlier in the year lean more towards red, but in the more recent tournaments UWB countertop has been proven to be more popular, most likely to deal with several metagame shifts and in particular the rise of graveyard-based decks.

The deck, for some reason, receives very little attention but has also placed very high (1st place, most of the time) in several events. Note that this deck has a very close correlation with 'Trinket Angels' and should probably be viewed as a variant of the same archetype. Here is a list of relevant finishes all within the past year in order of chronology:

UWr Trinket Angels
by Wolfgang Röchner
# Event: Bazaar-Liga Legacy März 2007
# Date: 18.03.2007
# Place: 1st
# Participants: 76