PDA

View Full Version : [Article] Unlocking Legacy - Lessons Learned

Di
11-26-2007, 01:56 AM
Linky (http://www.starcitygames.com/php/news/article/15065.html)

Just thought I'd throw this out there:

Aether Vial is a really good card... in a different metagame. In a world of Landstill and blue-based control decks, Aether Vial is incredibly good. The problem is that counters are only important to stop a few cards in the Goblins/Threshold matchup. Goblins loses most of its games when Threshold gets out a quick set of creatures before Goblins can stabilize, and Aether Vial really does nothing to stop that. Aether Vial slows the deck down a turn, but Chrome Mox and Ancient Tomb speed the deck up a turn. Seems good.

Seems good? No. Seems awful. I am no proponent of Goblins by any means and do not consider myself knowledgeable of the deck, but I am also no idiot. Apparently somebody doesn't have enough work under their belt to fully grasp what Aether Vial does for Goblins. Please, please, please do some more groundwork before throwing this stuff out to the public. Actually, I take that back. Please continue shedding this type of information to the format-dwellers. I would like nothing more than to go into the first round of the next large tournament and see that my Goblins opponent decided to cut Aether Vial. Oh holy day!

EDIT: I also bid you good luck ever casting a blue spell with the Faerie Stompy list. I was running 4 Chrome Mox along with 9 land-based blue sources and was still having difficulty with blue mana. Go go testing.

Volt
11-26-2007, 02:27 AM
Goblins without Aether Vial? That's, umm... below average.

xsockmonkeyx
11-26-2007, 03:32 AM