TrialByFire
12-28-2007, 01:11 PM
GWB Awesome Sauce

1. About the Deck
2. Decklist
3. Card By Card Analysis
4. Matchups

1. About This Deck

Disclaimer: If this deck is not innovative enough, just let me know and I will take it down. I know that it is a lot like other GWB decks out there.

This pretty much is just another random aggro/control deck, but I have been playing with this same archetype for about 6 months now, and decided to post my latest list. I have Top 8'ed 4 or 5 decently sized Legacy tournaments (30-40 people) in the last 6 months. This deck has gone through many evolutions to get to where it is now, and I believe the maindeck is optimized fully until Morningtide comes out. The SB could use a little work, but it has been gold for me so far. Anyways, on to the decklist.

2. Decklist

// Lands
4 Windswept Heath
2 Flooded Strand
4 Savannah
4 Scrubland
1 Plains
1 Forest
1 Swamp
4 Wasteland

// Creatures
4 Dark Confidant
4 Serra Avenger
4 Tarmogoyf
2 Doran, the Siege Tower
3 Knight of Meadowgrain

// Spells
3 Vindicate
3 Umezawa's Jitte
2 Engineered Explosives
4 Swords to Plowshares
2 Diabolic Edict
4 AEther Vial
4 Thoughtseize

// Sideboard
SB: 4 Pernicious Deed
SB: 4 Leyline of the Void
SB: 2 Extirpate
SB: 2 Krosan Grip
SB: 3 Engineered Plague

3. Card-By-Card Analysis

Maindeck

Fetchlands - In a deck with 3 colors, I think these are self explanatory

Dual Lands - See above

Basics - Being able to cast every card in the deck except the double white creatures and Leyline out of the board with Magus of the Moon or Back to Basics out is important.

Wasteland - Deals with problem cards such as Tabernacle, Karakas, Mishra's Factory, or whatever, also allows you to randomly win games just by color screwing your opponent if they play sloppy or keep a marginal hand. Almost never useless.

Dark Confidant - Card advantage and a beater, all for a single black mana in its cost. If it lives a few turns, you usually win.