PDA

View Full Version : [Deck] Mana Burns

AceofAllan
01-19-2008, 09:28 AM
Let me state right from the start that the title of the deck doesn't really say anything about the cards in it. I'm not good at naming decks. Some would say I'm not even good at building them.

Second: I'd like to think this deck is very unique, innovative and new, but I don't plan on entering this into the CaNG contest because I don't have the time or energy to test it.

So here goes.

16 x Island
4 x Rishadan Port

You're already skeptical. Just let me finish.

2 x Fog Bank
2 x Wall of Tears

3 x Sapphire Medallion
4 x Ankh of Mishra

4 x Boomerang
2 x Force of Will
4 x Parallax Tide
4 x Propaganda
4 x Portent
4 x Power Sink
4 x Psychic Venom
3 x Slow Motion

I'll get to the sideboard in a minute. You should be able to see the basic strategy without me telling you. Ankh of Mishra + Parallax Tide = remove five lands, then next turn they come back and deal 10 damage. Two ankhs or tides and that's game. Trust me though, there has been more thought put into this deck than that.

Ankh of Mishra is really the keystone of this deck. Having the ankh out creates a game with very few lands in play, which makes the Psychic Venoms drastically more effective. I have the Rishadan Ports and the Power Sinks to help me tap those enchanted lands too. Very few lands also makes Propaganda and Slow Motion infallible. There is no way your opponent should have enough mana to do any combination of attack, keep creatures, survive psychic venoms, and cast spells. Since I won't want to put many lands down either, I had to add the Sapphire Medallion to counteract the ankh for me.

Boomerang is most often used to return lands, both to reduce their available mana and to make them pay to put the land back into play. Sometimes I've used the boomerang to return my parallax tide, return a few lands, ankh damage, and play it again in the same turn. They still have no mana, and they took a good deal of damage.