Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Shattering Spree + Chalice of the Void

  1. #1
    Member
    BackDr0p's Avatar
    Join Date

    Jan 2009
    Location

    Plateau, Montreal
    Posts

    59

    Shattering Spree + Chalice of the Void

    Will the replicated copies of Shattering Spree be countered by a Chalice of the Void @ 1?

  2. #2

    Re: Shattering Spree + Chalice of the Void

    Quote Originally Posted by comp rules
    702.53a Replicate is a keyword that represents two abilities. The first is a static ability that functions while the spell is on the stack. The second is a triggered ability that functions while the spell is on the stack. "Replicate [cost]" means "As an additional cost to cast this spell, you may pay [cost] any number of times" and "When you cast this spell, if a replicate cost was paid for it, copy it for each time its replicate cost was paid. If the spell has any targets, you may choose new targets for any number of the copies." Paying a spell's replicate cost follows the rules for paying additional costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2e-g.


    706.9. To copy a spell or activated ability means to put a copy of it onto the stack; a copy of a spell isn't cast and a copy of an activated ability isn't activated. A copy of a spell or ability copies both the characteristics of the spell or ability and all decisions made for it, including modes, targets, the value of X, and additional or alternative costs. (See rule 601, "Casting Spells.") Choices that are normally made on resolution are not copied. If an effect of the copy refers to objects used to pay its costs, it uses the objects used to pay the costs of the original spell or ability. A copy of a spell is owned by the player under whose control it was put on the stack. A copy of a spell or ability is controlled by the player under whose control it was put on the stack. A copy of a spell is itself a spell, even though it has no spell card associated with it. A copy of an ability is itself an ability.
    Quote Originally Posted by Chalice of the Void
    Chalice of the Void enters the battlefield with X charge counters on it.
    Whenever a player casts a spell with converted mana cost equal to the number of charge counters on Chalice of the Void, counter that spell.
    Essentially, Chalice only counters "cast" spells, and copying the spell doesn't "cast" the copies. So, only the original spell is countered.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)