Thread: Storming to Top 8: Jupiter Games Invitational Weekend [DUAL REPORT]

Storming to Top 8: Jupiter Games Invitational Weekend [DUAL REPORT]

This tournament report really starts here where I began to qualify for this event. After this I top 8’d Grand Prix Columbus but because of college I've barely been able to play and when I have played a few times, I've been cold. Luckily I graduated with enough time for playing and testing to get back into nerd shape, just in time for Grand Prix Providence. I day two'd, but lost my first round day two and it was a downhill fall after that,however, Providence did end my cold streak. It made me realize I wanted to put Meltdown back into my sideboard. Which leads me to my current list...

The EPIC Storm

4 Gemstone Mine
    2 City of Brass
    2 Scalding Tarn
    2 Underground Sea
    1 Volcanic Island
    1 Polluted Delta
    1 Bloodstained Mire

4 Dark Ritual
    4 Rite of Flame
    4 Lion’s Eye Diamond
    4 Lotus Petal
    4 Chrome Mox
    4 Burning Wish
    4 Brainstorm
    4 Ponder
    4 Infernal Tutor
    3 Orim’s Chant
    3 Duress
    2 Xantid Swarm
    1 Ad Nauseam
    1 Empty the Warrens
    1 Tendrils of Agony

2 Pyroblast
    2 Xantid Swarm
    2 Echoing Truth
    1 Wipeaway
    1 Diminishing Returns
    1 Ill-Gotten Gains
    1 Tendrils of Agony
    1 Empty the Warrens
    1 Grapeshot
    1 Duress
    1 Shattering Spree
    1 Meltdown

Round One: David Price with Zoo

Game One: I open with Duress, Lotus Petal, Polluted Delta, Gemstone Mine, 2x Lion’s Eye Diamond, Infernal Tutor. I won the die roll and put Dave on New Horizons (I guess I don’t play enough or else I would’ve known he was playing Zoo), I lead off with Fetch, Underground Sea, Duress, and look at a hand full of dorks and a Lightning Bolt. He plays Steppe Lynx, I play Ad Nauseam.

Sideboarding: -2 Xantid Swarm, -1 Empty the Warrens, -1 Orim’s Chant, +1 Ill-Gotten Gains, +2 Echoing Truth, +1 Duress