Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Arcane Denial?

Arcane Denial?

Hi,

I'm a bit new to Legacy - as some of you may already know from some of my posts.
    And I've been looking at Counters.

Now besides the staples of Daze, Force, Pierce etc., I've been looking at what others are out there.
    ...and I found Arcane Denial.
    A hard counter like Counterspell that has no "pay mana" drawback like Daze.
    Plus it 1U, so it's very playable in decks that aren't mono-blue or filled with expensive lands.

Since almost all decks in Legacy are packed with 1-drops and even 0-drops, would it be playable as a swing-card?
    Capable of either being a counter, or potentially cast this together with a low CMC spell you don't need to draw another 3 cards yourself?

Thoughts?

Re: Arcane Denial?

There's this whole group of people in my local store who tries to run this card in legacy, they pack it into every deck, I can't even express to you how unbelievably bad this card is in legacy.

The power level of cards in legacy is way, way too strong to use this sort of thing; if you want a counterspell that cantrips, run Remand.

Here's how this card actually reads:

Counter target spell. Draw a card. The controller of that spell may draw two cards.

On their turn they literally get an ancestral recall essentially for free. The magnitude of how bad this card is is truly unreal. There are already enough amazing counterspells in legacy, and while there are few to no good draw spells in legacy, there's enough card filtering to shake a stick at, which is all you really need.

itsJulian.com - Legacy Videos
    Apr 2007
    Munich / Germany