Thread: Playable or not? Ancestral Knowledge

Playable or not? Ancestral Knowledge

Hi all,

I'm a big fan of tutor spells, but blue has very few outside Cunning Wish.
    Lim-Dul's Vault is one I can think of, but lately I've been playing Ancestral Knowledge in it's place.
    But I've not seen decks running Ancestral Knowledge often at all.

Ancestral has the ability to get us one card - cos no-one is gonna be paying cumulative upkeep after that first card, - but together with all the filter cards blue has, we don't even need to pay the upkeep costs at all, or wait until the next turn.
    A simple Brainstorm and we've netted the three cards we wanted etc etc at instant speed, before any instant speed Bounce etc. can kill it.

In testing I've found both Ancestral & Vault have their uses (and issues), but Ancestral seems to be easier to cast with a cheap (wasteland proof) manabase, easier to cast against someone running land destruction, and although it doesn't always net you the combo card you want from the top ten cards, you do get to shuffle your deck next turn.

So, is it playable?
    Do any of you use it in your decks?

itsJulian.com - Legacy Videos
    Apr 2007
    Munich / Germany

Re: Playable or not? Ancestral Knowledge

The first things that came to mind:
    • Sorcery Speed! Which decks would want to pay 2 mana main phase to not do anything at all? Lim Dul's Vault seems sooo much better.
    • Card Disadvantage! Blue already has to make up for Force of Will. Paying 2 mana mainphase for a better version of Index as opposed to a real draw spell seems bad.
    The seven cardinal sins of Legacy:
    1. Discuss the unbanning of Land Tax Earthcraft.
    2. Argue that banning Force of Will would make the format healthier.
    3. Play Brainstorm without Fetchlands.
    4. Stifle Standstill.
    5. Think that Gaea's Blessing will make you Solidarity-proof.
    6. Pass priority after playing Infernal Tutor.