Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: RW Devilblade

RW Devilblade

Basically, the idea of a RW Stoneblade build has intrigued me ever since I started playing it (right now I'm running a Junk version. Those blue duals are expensive, man...) My girlfriend has been getting into Magic lately, and she loves Stoneforge Mystic, and Red and White decks in general, and I thought now would be a good time to try it.

At first, it was basically a regular Stoneforge package with a few heavy hitters like Mirran Crusader, or evasive buggers like Squadron Hawk, with some burn and removal thrown in. Then I remembered Vexing Devil. He's too powerful not to use in a deck like this. A couple days later, I stumbled upon Martyr-Proc, and Ranger of Eos and Proclamation of Rebirth seem to work wonderfully with Vexing Devil.

Here's where I stand right now:

Creatures

4x Vexing Devil
    1x Figure of Destiny
    2x Grim Lavamancer
    2x Mother of Runes
    3x Stoneforge Mystic
    4x Mirran Crusader
    1x Stonecloaker
    3x Ranger of Eos

Artifact

1x Batterskull
    1x Sword of Fire and Ice
    1x Umezawa's Jitte

Instant

3x Browbeat
    4x Lightning Bolt
    4x Lightning Helix
    4x Path to Exile

Sorcery

3x Proclamation of Rebirth

Land

4x Arid Mesa
    2x Marsh Flats
    2x Wooded Foothills
    1x Plateau
    5x Mountain
    5x Plains

I'm not really sure where I want to go with this deck. The average cmc is really low, so if we splashed black, Dark Confidant would be a solid option (if only a little rough on the wallet...). The main problem I've had with the deck so far is that it can run out of steam rather quickly, or at least the builds before I added Ranger and Proc did. I'm not sure if Browbeat is the best draw spell for the deck either, since I'm almost always wanting to draw cards with it rather than deal 5.

Also, I'm new to MTGtheSource, and this is my first post. Here's hoping I'm bringing something new to the table.