Thread: Talk me off the ledge -- thinking of switching decks

Talk me off the ledge -- thinking of switching decks

Hey all -- I don't often have much to add on this board, but I do enjoy lurking and reading up on all the various topics of discussion.

One thing I often see written is "play what you know". I've been doing just this with miracles for the past 2 years or so. Honestly, I don't feel like I'm getting a whole lot better with the deck. Certain things have gotten easier, but I make WAY too many mistakes to be competitive. I often come away from matches thinking that my opponent is going to go back to his friends and describe me as the worst miracles player they have ever seen.

I'm registered to play at the SCG in Somerset on Saturday. I have my miracles deck all sleeved up and ready to go, but I'm only a couple of cards away from completing a Grixis Delver deck.

I have no time this week to play test (Thanksgiving and all that). Does it make more sense to take a deck that I "know" I suck playing to a tournament or to take one that I've never played at all. Understand that someone asking questions like this has no delusions that they're winning the tournament lol.

Site Contributor
    Dec 2010
    Houston, Texas, USA

Re: Talk me off the ledge -- thinking of switching decks

Quote Originally Posted by pnutbutr View Post
    Understand that someone asking questions like this has no delusions that they're winning the tournament lol.
    I think that answers your question. If you're not going to the tournament to win (though obviously that's sorta a goal), then I assume you're going because you want to have fun. So play whatever you think will give you the highest chance of having a lot of fun.

I've been feeling really off about MTG recently. Saturday, I borrowed Pox. I played 4 rounds and won 1 game. I had more fun in those four rounds than I've had playing Magic in a long time.
    Quote Originally Posted by Dice_Box View Post