Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Two questions. Karakas vs StP, and Drown in Sorrow vs. Bridge From Below

  1. #1

    Two questions. Karakas vs StP, and Drown in Sorrow vs. Bridge From Below

    OK questions about two plays that came up recently. I'll try to describe as simply as I can.

    1. I have a legendary creature on the table.
    2. Opponent targets that creature with Swords to Plowshares.
    3. I respond by returning him to my hand with Karakas.

    Where does the creature end up?



    Next situation:

    1. Opponent has two Narcomoeba on the battlefield. He also has two Bridge From Below in his graveyard. So if I kill the Narcomebas, normally four zombie tokens would come into play.
    2. So I cast Drown in Sorrow which gives all creatures -2/-2 until end of turn. I believe that means that not only the Narcomebas are killed, but any zombie tokens that reappear afterwards, correct?

  2. #2
    Member

    Join Date

    Feb 2015
    Location

    Detroit, MI
    Posts

    349

    Re: Two questions. Karakas vs StP, and Drown in Sorrow vs. Bridge From Below

    1) your hand
    2) no, only creatures on the battlefield when it resolves are affected. Zombies never die

  3. #3

    Re: Two questions. Karakas vs StP, and Drown in Sorrow vs. Bridge From Below

    Quote Originally Posted by ScottW View Post
    2) no, only creatures on the battlefield when it resolves are affected. Zombies never die
    Really? Even though the -2/-2 is until end of turn?

  4. #4

    Re: Two questions. Karakas vs StP, and Drown in Sorrow vs. Bridge From Below

    Quote Originally Posted by John Rohan View Post
    Really? Even though the -2/-2 is until end of turn?
    Yeah, the effect is "on" the creatures.

  5. #5

    Re: Two questions. Karakas vs StP, and Drown in Sorrow vs. Bridge From Below

    Quote Originally Posted by John Rohan View Post
    Really? Even though the -2/-2 is until end of turn?
    Yep, as Scott said, it only applies to creatures in play as it resolves. Since it is a sorcery, it is a one shot deal. Once it resolves, any new creatures that come into play are not affected and thus do not get -2/-2 until EOT. If the effect was done with an enchantment instead (Night of Souls' Betrayal for example), then this effect WOULD affect new creatures.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Safety View Post
    Look at the bright side, if Legacy becomes like Vintage all of us old dudes can get together, drink whiskey, and smoke cigars while we play the gentleman's format. Like an MtG speak-easy.

  6. #6
    A short, sturdy creature fond of drink and industry.
    PirateKing's Avatar
    Join Date

    Nov 2011
    Location

    BEST JERSEY
    Posts

    1,162

    Re: Two questions. Karakas vs StP, and Drown in Sorrow vs. Bridge From Below

    There is a bit of potential confusion given cards like Liliana, the Last Hope that do give debuffs that persist past the end of turn.
    You target their Wirewood Symbiote with the +1 and they activate Pendelhaven to save it? Cool, pass the turn; oh look it's dead.

    No plain reading of the text leads you to believe that "until your next turn" has it's literal English meaning but "until end of turn" doesn't.

    There's no question from me here, just an observation that it's this kind of stuff that gets asked often enough that precipitates changes to Blood Moon and Humility like we saw from the Ixalan rules update.
    Quote Originally Posted by GreatWhale View Post
    Gross, other formats. I puked in my mouth a little.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)