Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Untapping Cratures w/ Abilities

  1. #1

    Untapping Cratures w/ Abilities

    When you use Tree of Perdition:
    Defender
    {T}: Exchange target opponent's life total with Tree of Perdition's toughness.

    Your opponent has 20 life before you tap Tree of Perdition. Assuming you tap this creature round 2 against a player and now the player's life total is 13, during your next turn, during your untap phase, you untap Tree of Perdition, does the player go back to 20?

    If not what rule in Magic says that untapping makes the tapped ability null or reverse/ in contrast what rule in MTG says the tapped ability stays after the ability is used and not reversed?

    Thank you,
    Jay

  2. #2
    Member
    Mr. Safety's Avatar
    Join Date

    Nov 2010
    Location

    New Gloucester, Maine, USA
    Posts

    3,456

    Re: Untapping Cratures w/ Abilities

    Easy one: if an effect only lasts until the end of a turn, it will specifically state that on the card. You don't revert back life totals, they will still be at 13. If the card doesn't state 'until end of turn' or something similar, it lasts indefinitely. Combo that with Triskaidekaphobia and you've got something fun.

    On another note, there is a rules related forum on mtgthesource, it's on the forum home page: Card Interactions and Rulings. It's the best spot to ask rules questions.

    Good luck and have fun!
    I am counted amongst legions of the unrighteous
    who dread not being immersed in pits of fire

  3. #3
    GrimGrin and Glissa are in a boat...

    Join Date

    Jan 2013
    Location

    Paris City
    Posts

    471

    Re: Untapping Cratures w/ Abilities

    Additional question: If you put hte ability on the stack, and then lowers the toughness of the tree of perdition to 0 (Tragic sleep for example).
    When the ability resolves, do we check last known information on tree of perdition? If yes, then toughness was zero, and the opponent dies?
    Death and taxes!!

    Another Draft Blog

  4. #4

    Re: Untapping Cratures w/ Abilities

    7/13/2016
    If Tree of Perdition isnít on the battlefield when the ability resolves, the exchange canít happen and the ability will have no effect. Notably, activating the ability and giving Tree of Perdition -13/-13 in response wonít cause your opponent to lose the game.

  5. #5
    GrimGrin and Glissa are in a boat...

    Join Date

    Jan 2013
    Location

    Paris City
    Posts

    471

    Re: Untapping Cratures w/ Abilities

    kk thks :) should have read gatherer indeed :)
    Death and taxes!!

    Another Draft Blog

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)