Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Xenic Poltergeist + Bonesplitter

  1. #1
    Member
    Strawberry Dwarf's Avatar
    Join Date

    Feb 2008
    Location

    Czech Republic
    Posts

    82

    Xenic Poltergeist + Bonesplitter

    Can animated artifact equipment equip itself?
    My decks from real paper cards:

    [Modern] Green Deathtouch
    [Vintage] Suicide Red
    [Casual Legacy] Blood Bats
    [Legacy] White Suspend Aggro Control

  2. #2
    Hymn-Slinger
    H's Avatar
    Join Date

    Sep 2008
    Location

    The U-easy-anna
    Posts

    2,385

    Re: Xenic Poltergeist + Bonesplitter

    Quote Originally Posted by Strawberry Dwarf View Post
    Can animated artifact equipment equip itself?
    No, it can't equip to anything (and if it was, it isn't any more):

    301.5c An Equipment that's also a creature can't equip a creature. An Equipment that loses the subtype "Equipment" can't equip a creature. An Equipment can't equip itself. An Equipment that equips an illegal or nonexistent permanent becomes unattached from that permanent but remains on the battlefield. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.) An Equipment can't equip more than one creature. If a spell or ability would cause an Equipment to equip more than one creature, the Equipment's controller chooses which creature it equips.
    "The Ancients teach us that if we can but last, we shall prevail."
    Kaysa, Elder Druid of the Juniper Order

  3. #3
    Member
    Strawberry Dwarf's Avatar
    Join Date

    Feb 2008
    Location

    Czech Republic
    Posts

    82

    Re: Xenic Poltergeist + Bonesplitter

    301.5c An Equipment that's also a creature can't equip a creature.

    So, if Xenic Poltergeist animates an attached equipment, it becomes immediately unattached, true?
    My decks from real paper cards:

    [Modern] Green Deathtouch
    [Vintage] Suicide Red
    [Casual Legacy] Blood Bats
    [Legacy] White Suspend Aggro Control

  4. #4
    Hymn-Slinger
    H's Avatar
    Join Date

    Sep 2008
    Location

    The U-easy-anna
    Posts

    2,385

    Re: Xenic Poltergeist + Bonesplitter

    Quote Originally Posted by Strawberry Dwarf View Post
    301.5c An Equipment that's also a creature can't equip a creature.

    So, if Xenic Poltergeist animates an attached equipment, it becomes immediately unattached, true?
    Yes, that is correct. It was a very real strategy in Vintage from a long time ago, using Karn, Silver Golem to invalidate Equipment.
    "The Ancients teach us that if we can but last, we shall prevail."
    Kaysa, Elder Druid of the Juniper Order

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)