Page 16 of 16 FirstFirst ... 61213141516
Results 301 to 306 of 306

Thread: Kaldheim. It's going to have Snow. And Vikings.

  1. #301

    Re: Kaldheim. It's going to have Snow. And Vikings.

    Quote Originally Posted by FourDogsinaHorseSuit View Post
    Why doesn't "Creature cards in your hand have morph. Their morph cost is equal to their CMC" fit the rules?
    There's no rules problem per se, but it doesn't do what it ought to. I'm not 100% sure you'd be able to cast it face-down and once the card is face-down on the battlefield it's a new object and it's not in hand, so it doesn't have a morph ability that allows players to flip it face-up.

  2. #302
    Member

    Join Date

    May 2015
    Location

    PDX
    Posts

    1,802

    Re: Kaldheim. It's going to have Snow. And Vikings.

    Quote Originally Posted by rufus View Post
    There's no rules problem per se, but it doesn't do what it ought to. I'm not 100% sure you'd be able to cast it face-down and once the card is face-down on the battlefield it's a new object and it's not in hand, so it doesn't have a morph ability that allows players to flip it face-up.
    It is best to go back to OG rules to understand what is happening. The backside of the card "lives" in the exile zone, the front side of a face-down card lives in the face-down exile zone. The rules have been dumbed down, but both the battlefield and exile zones operate exactly as if they have a face-up half and a face-down half. Go to the correct half of the zone and you will "see" where the instructions "live."

  3. #303

    Re: Kaldheim. It's going to have Snow. And Vikings.

    Quote Originally Posted by Release Notes
    702.141. Foretell

    702.141a Foretell is a keyword that functions while the card with foretell is in a player's hand. Any time a player has priority during their turn, that player may pay {2} and exile a card with foretell from their hand face down. If the player does, that player may look at that card and they may cast it after the current turn has ended by paying any foretell cost it has rather than paying that spell's mana cost. Casting a spell this way follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2fh.

    702.141b Exiling a card using its foretell ability is a special action, which doesn't use the stack. See rule 116, "Special Actions."

    702.141c If an effect refers to foretelling a card, it means performing the special action associated with a foretell ability. If an effect refers to a card or spell that was foretold, it means a card put in the exile zone as a result of the special action associated with a foretell ability, or a spell that was a foretold card before it was cast, even if it was cast for a cost other than a foretell cost.

    702.141d If an effect states that a card in exile becomes foretold, that card becomes a foretold card. That effect may give the card a foretell cost. That card may be cast after the current turn has ended for any foretell cost it has, even if the resulting spell doesn't have foretell.

    702.141e If a player owns multiple foretold cards in exile, they must ensure that those cards can be easily differentiated from each other and from any other face-down cards in exile which that player owns. This includes knowing both the order in which those cards were put into exile and any foretell costs other than their printed foretell costs those cards may have.

    702.141f If a player leaves the game, all face-down cards foretold cards that player owns must be revealed to all players. At the end of each game, all face-down foretold cards must be revealed to all players.
    I bolded the most relevant portion to this discussion.

  4. #304

    Re: Kaldheim. It's going to have Snow. And Vikings.

    Quote Originally Posted by FourDogsinaHorseSuit View Post
    I bolded the most relevant portion to this discussion.
    702.141d is relevant to Ethereal Valkyrie, but not to Dream Devourer. Dream Devourer never refers to any exiled cards.

    Here's the text from Dream Devourer:
    Each nonland card in your hand without foretell has foretell. Its foretell cost is equal to its mana cost reduced by .

    Whenever you foretell a card, Dream Devourer gets +2/+0 until end of turn.
    Is there some part that refers to exiled cards that I missed?

  5. #305

    Re: Kaldheim. It's going to have Snow. And Vikings.

    Quote Originally Posted by rufus View Post
    702.141d is relevant to Ethereal Valkyrie, but not to Dream Devourer. Dream Devourer never refers to any exiled cards.

    Here's the text from Dream Devourer:

    Is there some part that refers to exiled cards that I missed?
    A card that is fortold becomes a fortell card. There is an effect (the card itself, as granted by the devourer) that is making the card in exile fortold.

  6. #306
    Member

    Join Date

    May 2015
    Location

    PDX
    Posts

    1,802

    Re: Kaldheim. It's going to have Snow. And Vikings.

    @rufus - If you've ever played mtgo you know that random effects being added to cards show up as blue text in the text box. Devourer pastes the blue text about 'un-foretell' cost on the face-down card. So take yourself to the face-down half of the exile zone, look up at your card [you're seeing the face-up side], look at the text box, and note all the blue text about un-foretelling.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)