Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Spell casting and paying costs timing

  1. #1
    GrimGrin and Glissa are in a boat...

    Join Date

    Jan 2013
    Location

    French Riviera
    Posts

    1,090

    Spell casting and paying costs timing

    Let's say I can pay for a card's cost by discarding a card as an alternate casting cost.
    Does any "When you cast this spell" trigger see the card in the graveyard??

    I'm just trying to figure the exact timing.

  2. #2
    Member

    Join Date

    May 2015
    Location

    PDX
    Posts

    1,856

    Re: Spell casting and paying costs timing

    If discarding is part of the spell cost, this must be paid to cast a spell. If the spell creates a trigger [at/when/whenever], the discards are in yard already.

  3. #3
    GrimGrin and Glissa are in a boat...

    Join Date

    Jan 2013
    Location

    French Riviera
    Posts

    1,090

    Re: Spell casting and paying costs timing

    Quote Originally Posted by Fox View Post
    If discarding is part of the spell cost, this must be paid to cast a spell. If the spell creates a trigger [at/when/whenever], the discards are in yard already.
    Many thks.

  4. #4

    Re: Spell casting and paying costs timing

    If you want to see the order that stuff happens in while casting spells rule 601 goes over it in painstaking detail.

    https://magic.wizards.com/en/game-in...-formats/rules

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)