Thread: Chainsmoker

Hybrid View

Psilovibin
    Apr 2008

Chainsmoker

Chain of Smog and Witherbloom Apprentice is the combo.

Chain of Smog can be copied any number of times when you target yourself. Magecraft triggers for each time you copy the Chain of Smog.

Vulnerable to removal. Both pieces cost 2 means Spell Snare is good.

Here's a super-rough SI shell of it. Summoner's Pact can be a mana source or a win condition seems quite strong.

4 Witherbloom Apprentice
    4 Chain of Smog

4 Ad Nauseam
    4 Wishclaw Talsiman

4 Summoner's Pact
    4 Elvish Spirit Guide

4 Hope of Ghirapur

4 Dark Ritual
    4 Culling the Weak

4 Lotus Petal
    4 Chrome Mox
    4 Mox Opal
    4 Lion's Eye Diamond

1 Dryad Arbor
    3 Bayou
    4 Verdant Catacombs

Entomb and EoE is another route, which leads to reanimation lines for Witherbloom Apprentice. Diabolic Intent could be good with Summoner's Pact.
    Luck is a residue of design.

I'm an aspiring Psychedelic Trance musician. Please feel free to enjoy my sense of life:
    http://soundcloud.com/vacrix

Expect me or die. I play SI.

Mar 2007
    Germany, Germering, Munich

Re: Chainsmoker

I like the idea of Pact as both Apprentice tutor and mana generator via ESG.

Dumb question: What's the role of Ad Nauseam here? You don't need to generate storm, you have compact 2-card combo that deals infinite damage. I would rather be concerned how you protect the combo aside from Hope of Ghirapur since going off with Smog will leave you hellbent.

Psilovibin
    Apr 2008

The SI shell might not be optimal for the combo itself, but it makes absurd amounts of mana to make Ad Nauseam castable early.

Scheming Symmetry (perhaps with cantrips like Street Wraith), Diabolic Intent, and Entomb could fetch out a piece of the combo.

EDIT:
    Responding with Weather the Storm with Witherbloom Apprentice in play puts storm far out of kill range, or can kill the storm player. The combo vs. storm matchup could be strong in game 2/3.