Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Sylvan Library + Words of Worship/War/Wilding, etc

  1. #1

    Sylvan Library + Words of Worship/War/Wilding, etc

    Sylvan Library
    1G (2), Enchantment
    At the beginning of your draw step, you may draw two cards. If you do, choose two cards in your hand drawn this turn. For each of those cards, pay 4 life or put the card on top of your library.

    Words of Worship
    2W (3), Enchantment
    {1}: The next time you would draw a card this turn, you gain 5 life instead.

    Words of War
    2R (3), Enchantment
    {1}: The next time you would draw a card this turn, Words of War deals 2 damage to target creature or player instead.

    Words of Wilding
    2G (3), Enchantment
    {1}: The next time you would draw a card this turn, put a 2/2 green Bear creature token into play instead.

    Does this work? uncounterable way to get every turn 10 life points or 2 2/2 green bears, or 4 damages to opponent. just paying 2.

    Can this work?

  2. #2

    Re: Sylvan Library + Words of Worship/War/Wilding, etc

    Yes, that will work. However, because Sylvan Library says "two cards in your hand drawn this turn", if you drew your card for your turn, you will have to either pay 4 life or put it back.

    Drawing your card for your turn happens at the beginng of your draw step, before Sylvan Library goes on the stack.

    If you replace both your draw and Sylvan Library's draws (3 activations), you will not have to pay any life or put any cards back. And you can add additional Libraries for more fun.

    Also, you need to activate Words during your upkeep if you want to replace your draw for the turn, since you do not get priority during your draw step until after you draw.
    “It's possible. But it involves... {checks archives} Nature's Revolt, Opalescence, two Unstable Shapeshifters (one of which started as a Doppelganger), a Tide, an animated land, a creature with Fading, a Silver Wyvern, some way to get a creature into play in response to stuff, some way to get a land into play in response to stuff (a different land from the animated land), and one heck of a Rube Goldberg timing diagram.”
    -David DeLaney

  3. #3
    Insane Anarchists Get Mean
    freakish777's Avatar
    Join Date

    Aug 2005
    Location

    NY State
    Posts

    1,760

    Re: Sylvan Library + Words of Worship/War/Wilding, etc

    X Number of Sylvan Librarys + Words of Worship + Well of Lost Dreams, presumably you WANT to wait to pay for the Well of Lost Dreams trigger until after you've replaced the last Sylvan Library card draws with gaining life from Words of Worship, correct? Because if you replaced your draw step with gaining 5 life, and paid X up to 5 to draw up to 5 cards with Well of Lost Dreams, then later drew 2 with Sylvan Library you'd be on the hook to put cards back (from Well of Lost Dreams) whether you replace those draws from Sylvan Library or not. Do I have this right?

  4. #4
    Hymn-Slinger
    H's Avatar
    Join Date

    Sep 2008
    Location

    The U-easy-anna
    Posts

    2,430

    Re: Sylvan Library + Words of Worship/War/Wilding, etc

    Quote Originally Posted by freakish777 View Post
    X Number of Sylvan Librarys + Words of Worship + Well of Lost Dreams, presumably you WANT to wait to pay for the Well of Lost Dreams trigger until after you've replaced the last Sylvan Library card draws with gaining life from Words of Worship, correct? Because if you replaced your draw step with gaining 5 life, and paid X up to 5 to draw up to 5 cards with Well of Lost Dreams, then later drew 2 with Sylvan Library you'd be on the hook to put cards back (from Well of Lost Dreams) whether you replace those draws from Sylvan Library or not. Do I have this right?
    Yeah, if the Sylvan trigger resolves, it wants two cards you've drawn to be put back. So, you don't want to have drawn any cards before that trigger is done resolving if you don't want to have to put any back.

    So, I'm pretty sure you want to replace your normal draw and all the draws from Library with life gain and since it's a replacement effect, the trigger from Well won't go on the stack until the Library's trigger is done resolving, then you can pay your X.

    I'm bad at math, but I think that if you want to draw and keep the most amount of cards, unless you have a very large amount of mana, you probably don't want to use the Library trigger at all.
    "The Ancients teach us that if we can but last, we shall prevail."
    —Kaysa, Elder Druid of the Juniper Order

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)