PDA

View Full Version : Vial + Sower + Riptide Laboratory



4eak
03-28-2009, 05:42 AM
I'm 98% sure this is how it works, but I want to double check.

I have Vial@4, Sower, Riptide Lab, an arbitrary amount of mana, and my opponent has 2 creatures (and I want to take them).

I hardcast Sower, the trigger hits the stack, in response I Riptide Lab the Sower back to my hand and Vial him back into play.

I only get 1 creature, right?

There are 2 Sower Triggers on the stack, but the first one put on the stack should pretty much fizzle because Sower was not continuously in play, which includes when it's triggered ability was first put on the stack, right?





peace,
4eak

ansset
03-28-2009, 07:12 AM
It's a completely different Sower. The first one will resolve and do nothing because it's a continuous effect that is not continuing, as its condition is not being met.

Good idea, though.

cdr
03-28-2009, 11:45 AM
Sower of Temptation 2UU
Creature -- Faerie Wizard
Flying
When Sower of Temptation comes into play, gain control of target creature as long as Sower of Temptation remains in play.
2/2


418.3d. Some effects from activated or triggered abilities have durations worded "as long as . . . ." If the "as long as" duration ends before the moment the effect would first be applied, the effect does nothing. It doesn't start and immediately stop again, and it doesn't last forever.

Example: Endoskeleton is an artifact with an activated ability that reads "{2}, {T}: Target creature gets +0/+3 as long as Endoskeleton remains tapped." If you play this ability and then Endoskeleton becomes untapped before the ability resolves, it does nothing, because its duration-remaining tapped-was over before the effect began.

mujadaddy
03-28-2009, 04:01 PM
Ooo, steal a creature with a sacrifice-self ability :wink: