PDA

View Full Version : Astral Slide and Krosan Grip



Dark_Cynic87
05-08-2009, 06:31 PM
I understand that cycling doesn't use the stack, and I was wondering about this situation when I'm playing WGx Slide:

I have a Slide in play along with an Eternal Witness. My opponent Krosan Grips my Slide. Can I respond by cycling something, since cycling doesn't use the stack, and if so does this allow for Slide to trigger and go on the stack, like Counterbalance's ability still triggers when you play a K. Grip or something else w/ Split Second, so that I can slide out my E. Witness to get my Astral Slide back?

Thanks for all your feedback in advance.

Pce,

--DC

Papillon
05-08-2009, 06:35 PM
I understand that cycling doesn't use the stack, and I was wondering about this situation when I'm playing WGx Slide:


What? Cycling does use the stack.

Jaynel
05-08-2009, 06:38 PM
Cycling most definitely uses the stack. Morph does not.

Brushwagg
05-08-2009, 06:39 PM
Cycling uses the stack. It's an activated ability. Otherwise you wouldn't be able to Stifle it.


502.18 - Cycling
502.18a - Cycling is an activated ability that functions only while the card with cycling is in a player's hand. "Cycling [cost]" means "[Cost], Discard this card: Draw a card." [CompRules 2004/10/01]
502.18b - Although the cycling ability is playable only if the card is in a player's hand, it continues to exist while the object is in play and in all other zones. Therefore objects with cycling will be affected by effects that depend on objects having one or more activated abilities. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
502.18c - Some cards with cycling have abilities that trigger when they're cycled. "When you cycle [this card]" means "When you discard [this card] to pay a cycling cost." These abilities trigger from the graveyard. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
502.18d - Typecycling is a variant of the cycling ability. "[Type]cycling [cost]" means "[Cost],Discard this card: Search your library for a [type] card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library." This type is usually a subtype (as in "mountaincycling") but can be any card type, subtype, supertype, or combination thereof (as in "basic landcycling"). [CompRules 2009/02/01]
502.18e - Any cards that trigger when a player cycles a card will trigger when a card is discarded to pay a typecycling cost. Any effect that stops players from cycling cards will stop players from playing cards' typecycling abilities. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
502.18.Ruling.1 - Using Cycling is not a spell, it's an activated ability of a card in your hand. It cannot be countered by things which counter spells or things that counter activated abilities of permanents. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
502.18.Ruling.2 - You draw the card when the ability resolves, and if that card can be legally played, you can play it before letting any of the other spells and abilities on the stack resolve. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
502.18.Ruling.4 - Effects that trigger on "when this card is cycled" trigger when the cycling ability is played. The triggered ability will resolve before the card is drawn during the resolution of the Cycle ability. [Onslaught FAQ 2002/09/24]
502.18.Ruling.5 - This ability can only be played while this card is in your hand. Effects that let you play a card from another zone as if it were in your hand will not allow you to play this ability as if it were in your hand. [DeLaney 2003/06/14]

Dark_Cynic87
05-08-2009, 06:46 PM
I was under the impression it didn't. So this does not work. Got it.

Pce,

--DC

Malchar
05-09-2009, 11:48 AM
under normal circumstances it may be normal to think that it doesn't: it can't be countered by using normal counterspells like daze or counterspell, but that's because it's not a spell.