PDA

View Full Version : Blood Moon + Duergar Hedge-Mage



ScatmanX
01-27-2010, 11:38 AM
So, opponent has a Blood Moon and a Trinisphere on the Battlefield.
I have 1 Scrubland, 1 Plateau, and a Swamp.
I cast Duergar Hedge-Mage.

Can it destroy both the Bloodmoon, since I have scrub+plateau, and Trinisphere, since all my lands are mountains?

Thanks.

Malchar
01-27-2010, 11:45 AM
No, you could only destroy the Trinisphere. If your lands are mountains due to Blood Moon then they aren't any other basic land types, so they aren't plains anymore. This is what makes Blood Moon useful. It prevents the opponent from using nonbasics for anything other than red mana.

ScatmanX
01-27-2010, 12:22 PM
I know I can only use the lands for red mana, but I was told that the lands were still nonbasics, and that they still counted for Plains.

Guess I was told wrong... dammit.

KrzyMoose
01-27-2010, 12:31 PM
I know I can only use the lands for red mana, but I was told that the lands were still nonbasics, and that they still counted for Plains.

Guess I was told wrong... dammit.

The lands are actually still nonbasic.

Malchar
01-27-2010, 05:17 PM
Yes, they're still nonbasic, but they're also only mountains. Basically, the card is a nonbasic mountain that would look something like this:

Scrubland
Land - Mountain
T: Add R to your mana pool.
(no other abilities)

crow_mw
01-28-2010, 05:02 AM
Could you kindly point me toward the explanation, why are they still considered nonbaisic? I always thought they are uneffected by, say, Price of Progress. Guess you learn something new every day...

Nonex
01-28-2010, 05:33 AM
Since Blood Moon specificies that nonbasic lands are Mountains and Mountain is a land subtype, we can safely say that Blood Moon affects only subtypes, leaving other card types (like artifact or creature) and supertypes (like legendary) intact.

Anusien
01-28-2010, 10:22 AM
Specifically, Blood Moon only changes land subtypes.


305.7. If an effect changes a land's subtype to one or more of the basic land types, the land no longer has its old land type. It loses all abilities generated from its rules text and its old land types, and it gains the appropriate mana ability for each new basic land type. Note that this doesn't remove any abilities that were granted to the land by other effects. Changing a land's subtype doesn't add or remove any card types (such as creature) or supertypes (such as basic, legendary, and snow) the land may have. If a land gains one or more land types in addition to its own, it keeps its land types and rules text, and it gains the new land types and mana abilities.