PDA

View Full Version : Veilstone amulet



Offler
01-29-2010, 12:18 PM
My co-players referring this card as one of the worst rarities which is available. Since i had no better reference i adopted their opinion for a longer time. Some time ago i said farewell (and never come back) to most of these people especially when i found out that they were just liars...

How this card work in their eyes...

I play it... then before i can do anything they will play naturalize or return to dust, just because those two spells are instants.

The second bad opinion about this card was statement which said "if you play a creature spell and that creature will enter battlefield it will be not affected by its ability, because you just played it".

The third was that spell has to resolve to trigger the ability.

I would like to thank people on this forum to clear much more the rules about priorities. Surely they cannot play naturalize until i pass priority to them, and while it is my turn i can play further spells, even with Veilstone amulet in play. At this time they can react, but really not earlier.

Later i realized that the effect is triggered, but not by resolving the spell, but by simply playing the spell. At the moment i pay costs and the spell enters the stack, the ability will trigger and if not countered it will resolve.

And the last thing. The effect is global. All creatures in play under my control are protected by the effect once triggered. So even if creature spell will trigger the effect, the creature will be protected once entering the battlefield.

and now to my question:

my opponent will play a spell in attempt to destroy a creature.
I will play any random Instant spell in response.
The ability of Veilstone amulet will trigger.
***
Now to resolving...
The ability of Veilstone amulet will resolve.
My spell will resolve
My opponent's spell will be countered due illegal target.

If any of the statements is wrong please tell me... Some people were destroying the amulet by illegal actions, and other were drawing their destructive spells back onto hand, and untapping mana sources when i stated that the creatures are now protected.

Thanks.

Anusien
01-29-2010, 12:25 PM
Veilstone Amulet {3} |Artifact| Whenever you cast a spell, creatures you control can't be the targets of spells or abilities your opponents control this turn.

You're pretty much right.

If an opponent casts a spell that targets your creatures, and you respond by casting a spell, Veilstone Amulet will trigger. They can respond to that trigger with another kill spell. But if they don't, and Veilstone Amulet's triggered ability resolves, your creatures are protected. Any spell that only targets your creatures will be countered on resolution for lack of a legal target.

Now if it goes the other way, it's less good for you. Let's say you cast a spell on your turn, the triggered ability resolves, and then your opponent wants to Swords to Plowshares your guy. They're literally not allowed to cast the spell. So in that case, the mana abilities from lands are reversed and the spell is put back into their hand (or wherever they played it from).

And Veilstone Amulet sets up a game rule that protects your creatures until end of turn. So if you play a creature, Amulet will trigger, and when it resolves, it can protect the creature you cast, even though that creature wasn't in play when the ability resolved.

And Veilstone Amulet does not have to be in play for its triggered ability to resolve.

dorsch
01-29-2010, 12:33 PM
I play it... then before i can do anything they will play naturalize or return to dust, just because those two spells are instants.
Thats wrong.
If you play tha amulet and it resolves, you get priority again, because you are the active player. So if you play something right afterwards, the triggered ability from veilstone amulet goes to the stack. Your opponent might respond with any instants and destroy the amulet or any creatures. The triggered ability will resolve afterwards.



The second bad opinion about this card was statement which said "if you play a creature spell and that creature will enter battlefield it will be not affected by its ability, because you just played it".

Whenever you cast a spell, Veilstone Amulet changes somehow the gamerules until end of turn. All of your creatures will have "trollshroud" for the rest of the turn, no matter if they came into play before or after the trigger resolved. If a creature is the first spell you play that turn, the trigger will resolve before the creature enters the battlefield, but it will be protected.


The third was that spell has to resolve to trigger the ability.
The ability triggers whenever you CAST a spell, not when it resolves.



I would like to thank people on this forum to clear much more the rules about priorities. Surely they cannot play naturalize until i pass priority to them, and while it is my turn i can play further spells, even with Veilstone amulet in play. At this time they can react, but really not earlier.

Later i realized that the effect is triggered, but not by resolving the spell, but by simply playing the spell. At the moment i pay costs and the spell enters the stack, the ability will trigger and if not countered it will resolve.

And the last thing. The effect is global. All creatures in play under my control are protected by the effect once triggered. So even if creature spell will trigger the effect, the creature will be protected once entering the battlefield.
You are right, see statement above.

and now to my question:



my opponent will play a spell in attempt to destroy a creature.
I will play any random Instant spell in response.
The ability of Veilstone amulet will trigger.
***
Now to resolving...
The ability of Veilstone amulet will resolve.
My spell will resolve
My opponent's spell will be countered due illegal target.

If any of the statements is wrong please tell me... Some people were destroying the amulet by illegal actions, and other were drawing their destructive spells back onto hand, and untapping mana sources when i stated that the creatures are now protected.

Thanks.
There is no failure in your example. You explained well what actually happens.

P.S. Since you are concerned about some advanced rules: A spell never "enters the stack", a spell is "put onto the stack"

Offler
01-30-2010, 07:40 AM
These are the most consistent respond for a MTG quesion i ever seen :) Everything is clear and logical and no answers like "its like that just because of rules".

Quote:
"And Veilstone Amulet does not have to be in play for its triggered ability to resolve."

I was thinking about it, but as about any other global effect linked to permanent. In other words i thought that if source static ability leaves the play the ability wears off, but Veilstone amulet has Trigerred ability which uses stack.

to: Dorsch
I am trying to collect each blue card ever printed (sorted by names) for my blue highlander deck. It gives me bigger library from which i can take a card. Because german highlander is one of the most complicated constructed formats it is hard to play when you dont know all effects of cards and all rules around them. Especially in blue combo deck.

... i mean yes i am interested in advanced rules, but even basic actions still gives me trouble... For example - Reality strobe... player targeted my land - Oboro Palace in clouds. I have chosen to take the card back to my hand with its own ability, but too late i discovered that Reality strobe was countered because of illegal target so it does not returned into suspend status.