View Full Version : M10 combat damage
Zappa
02-13-2010, 09:32 PM
If an attacking player attacks with a 4/4 (no trample). Defending player blocks with a 2/2 and a 2/1. Ordering the 2/2 to block 1st, and the 2/1 to block 2nd. But attacking player does not want to kill the 2/1. Is the attacking player FORCED to kill BOTH creatures? Can the 4/4 deal all 4 damage to the 2/2, or is he forced to kill the 2/1 as well?
I am like going nuts, since I am being ganged up by 2 starters, who's really difficult to persuade. Since they claim they saw it in an official tutorial video that that's how it works.
Broham
02-13-2010, 10:06 PM
From the rules changes announcement at Wizards
The first thing that happens during the combat damage step is that combat damage is assigned. If an attacker is blocked by multiple creatures, the attacking player can divide its combat damage among them. The player starts by assigning damage to the first blocking creature in line. If that creature is assigned lethal damage, further damage may be assigned to that creature and/or the next one in line. If lethal damage is assigned to the second one, the attacking player can move on to the third, and so on. This works very similarly to trample.
So yes, you can assign it all the damage to the first creature.
LINK (http://www.wizards.com/magic/magazine/Article.aspx?x=mtg/daily/feature/42a)
Zappa
02-14-2010, 12:29 AM
thanks, will send link.
Reverend Damaged
02-14-2010, 02:38 AM
On a similar note, does anyone know how the new damage rules work with Furnace of Rath?
If I attack with say, a 6/6 and my opponent blocks with a 2/1, a 2/2, a 3/3, and a 6/6 (let's say, in that order):
If I just do 1 damage to blockers 1, 2, and 3, and the remaining 3 to blocker 4, will it all double and kill each one? If I only assign 1 damage to blocker 1, and he takes 2 because of furnace of wrath, does the 1 remaining spill over to blocker 2?
What about if I swing with a Ball Lightning and creature 1 blocks, and I assign all 6 damage to it? Would that double to 12, and spill 11 over (because of trample) which I could assign to blocker 2 and create a huge snowball effect straight through blocker 4 to the player?
The whole thing is extremely confusing to me and this actually came up in a game the other day using the Plane Chase decks and some fat creature with trample.
KrzyMoose
02-14-2010, 03:24 AM
If I attack with say, a 6/6 and my opponent blocks with a 2/1, a 2/2, a 3/3, and a 6/6 (let's say, in that order):
If I just do 1 damage to blockers 1, 2, and 3, and the remaining 3 to blocker 4, will it all double and kill each one? If I only assign 1 damage to blocker 1, and he takes 2 because of furnace of wrath, does the 1 remaining spill over to blocker 2?
No. Furnace of Rath is a replacement effect, and only happens after damage is assigned and dealt. When assigning lethal damage, the game does not take into account Furnace's ability. Therefore, you have to assign 1 to one, 2 to two, 3 to three, and 1 to four.
What about if I swing with a Ball Lightning and creature 1 blocks, and I assign all 6 damage to it? Would that double to 12, and spill 11 over (because of trample) which I could assign to blocker 2 and create a huge snowball effect straight through blocker 4 to the player?
Trample doesn't exactly work like that. When assigning damage from a creature with trample, you first assign (at least) lethal damage to the blocker, then the rest to the player. So, if you choose to assign all 6 damage to the creature, none will trample over, even if that creature has one toughness. This doesn't change if Furnace is on the table - just because more damage was dealt does not change to where the damage was dealt.
Furnace of Rath's ability triggers (though, it's not a triggered ability) after damage is assigned. The ability replaces the damage being dealt.
Reverend Damaged
02-14-2010, 11:19 AM
Alright thanks. I just remember back in the day (Tempest era), there was some screwy interaction between Ball Lightning and Furnace that made it double to 12, then trample over. I have no idea if that worked then even, but I remember people doing it.
Just wanted to be clear, appreciate the help.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.