PDA

View Full Version : Show and Tell, Control Magic, Shroud



Forbiddian
03-07-2010, 01:50 AM
So I guess three part question:

One: If I cast Show and Tell and choose to put Iona (no relevant abilities, just an example) into play and my opponent chooses to put Control Magic into play, can he steal my Iona with it?

Two: If so, say my opponent chooses to put Control Magic into play, but I don't put an Iona into play (say I put Dream Halls into play), what happens to the Control Magic?

Three: If I already have Inkwell Leviathan (potentially relevant abilities: Shroud) in play, then I cast Show and Tell putting Iona into play, can my opponent put Control Magic into play and steal Inkwell Leviathan?

Malchar
03-07-2010, 02:09 AM
One: [Edit] No.
Two: If there is nothing that it can legally enchant, then it remains in its owner's hand.
Three: Yes, because auras only target when they are cast.

Some rules:

113.1b Aura spells are always targeted. These are the only permanent spells with targets. An Aura’s target is specified by its enchant keyword ability (see rule 702.5, “Enchant”). The target(s) are chosen as the spell is cast; see rule 601.2c. An Aura permanent doesn’t target anything; only the spell is targeted. (An activated or triggered ability of an Aura permanent can also be targeted.)


303.4f If an Aura is entering the battlefield under a player’s control by any means other than by resolving as an Aura spell, and the effect putting it onto the battlefield doesn’t specify the object or player the Aura will enchant, that player chooses what it will enchant as the Aura enters the battlefield. The player must choose a legal object or player according to the Aura’s enchant ability and any other applicable effects.


303.4g If an Aura is entering the battlefield and there is no legal object or player for it to enchant, the Aura remains in its current zone, unless that zone is the stack. In that case, the Aura is put into its owner’s graveyard instead of entering the battlefield.

Edit: Can't believe I got the obscure one right but missed the obvious one. Anyway, since Control Magic uses a continuous ability that modifies how it enters the battlefield, the target has to be there ahead of time.

Nonex
03-07-2010, 09:19 AM
I'm not sure about the first question. AFAIK, both cards are entering simultaneously so Control Magic shouldn't see Iona as a legal object. What am I missing?

Pneumatiker
03-07-2010, 09:33 AM
A similiar question was asked some weeks ago:



Player 1: Show and Tell
Player 2: SnT resolves
*Player 1 selects Iona, plays it face down*
*Player 2 selects Lignify, plays it face down*
*Both cards are revealed*
*They enter the battlefield, and effects go on the stack*
*When Lignify's trigger resolves, Iona is in play, thus you can choose it*

Or do I have to announce Lignify's target as I place it down (ie, having to guess what they've put into play)?


Lignify has no triggered ability. Lignify does not target when it's put into play by an effect (you're not playing it). It comes into play enchanting something. Iona is not in play when Lignify is coming into play.

Hence Control Magic can't enchant a creature put into play by the same SnT as the Control Magic itself.

cdr
03-07-2010, 12:44 PM
Nonex / Pneumatiker are correct about #1, Malchar has the other two right.