View Full Version : Permafrost Trap + Manland
Arsenal
03-13-2010, 04:12 AM
My opponent activates a manland (Celestial Colonnade, Lavaclaw Reaches, Mishra's Factory, etc). I cast Permafrost Trap, targetting the manland.
During my opponent's next untap phase, does the manland untap?
Malchar
03-13-2010, 05:02 AM
Nope. It doesn't matter if it changes types. The effect basically gets locked in as soon as the trap resolves with a legal target.
Arsenal
03-13-2010, 05:12 AM
Is there something I can reference in the Comp. Rules? It came up at my FNM, and although I suspected that he wouldn't be able to untap it, I didn't know how to articulate myself properly.
dorsch
03-13-2010, 05:59 AM
Comp. Rules:
608.2i If an ability’s effect refers to a specific untargeted object that has been previously referred to by that ability’s cost or trigger condition, it still affects that object even if the object has changed characteristics.
Example: Wall of Tears says “Whenever Wall of Tears blocks a creature, return that creature to its owner’s hand at end of combat.” If Wall of Tears blocks a creature, then that creature ceases to be a creature before the triggered ability resolves, the permanent will still be returned to its owner’s hand.
Arsenal
03-13-2010, 06:02 AM
Comp. Rules:
Thanks for the replies everyone.
Malchar
03-13-2010, 03:03 PM
That rule quote doesn't really apply. It only covers the case where the effect is untargetted.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.