PDA

View Full Version : Trigger abilities and player priorities



kurterickson
04-29-2010, 07:12 PM
I have gone through the oracle text reading about these 2 subjects to try and resolve this issue of rulings.

Issue:

Person A has Debtor's Knel along with an Eternal Witness in play.
Person B has Braids, Cabal Minion in play.

Person B passes the turn to Person A. Person A untaps all permanents he controls, then enters his Upkeep step.

Would Debtor's Knell trigger then Braids' ability trigger being put on the same stack as Debtor's Knell? Would Person A be able to sacrifice Eternal Witness to Braids' ability to be able to bring it back with Debtors Knell?

Or do the abilities trigger and resolve separately in APNAP (Active Player, Non-Active Player) order? As in Person A's ability triggers and resolves, then Person B's ability would trigger and resolve.

cdr
04-29-2010, 07:36 PM
You choose targets for triggered abilities when they are put on the stack, much like a spell. Something that's not in your graveyard when your upkeep begins could never be a target of Debtor's Knell's ability.

Things that happen at the same time but need to be ordered are always handled in APNAP fashion.


As in Person A's ability triggers and resolves, then Person B's ability would trigger and resolve.

No. They are put on the stack at the same time, no "and resolves". Debtor's Knell goes on the stack, Braids's trigger goes on the stack, Braids resolves, Knell resolves.