PDA

View Full Version : Aluren



(nameless one)
05-07-2010, 12:15 PM
Aluren

The current text on the card is:


Any player may play creature cards with converted mana cost 3 or less without paying their mana cost and as though they had flash.

I dont seem to understand the card. Are you casting the creature spell or simply putting it into the field?

Thanks!

TorpidNinja
05-07-2010, 12:23 PM
From rulings on Gatherer:

The mana cost of the creatures being cast is still the stated cost on the card, even though you did not pay the cost.

Emphasis mine; you're casting the spell.

luma
05-07-2010, 02:28 PM
To "play" a card means "play it as a land if it's a land; otherwise cast it as a spell". You are casting those creatures even if you use Aluren to do that (or play them as lands if you have Dryad Arbors).

Ecoris
05-08-2010, 04:20 PM
In the case of Dryad Arbor: Notice that you still only get to play one land during each of your turns, and you can't play lands during your opponent's turns. Aluren just allows you to play Dryad Arbor at any time you have priority during your own turn. (Just like Teferi, Mage of Zhalfir).