PDA

View Full Version : Priority



Steino
05-26-2010, 10:55 AM
The current game state: My opponent casts an Exhume. When I get priority I sacrifice my Tormod’s Crypt targeting my opponent to remove their graveyard. My opponent has an Entomb in hand.

After the Tormod’s Crypt ability resolves: Do I have priority again to let Exhume resolve or does my opponent get priority back to cast Entomb before Exhume resolves?

dorsch
05-26-2010, 11:03 AM
Every time, after one object on the stack resolved, the active player gets priority. The next object will resolve if he passes priority and the passive player passes priority too.

There is no possible way that two objects will resolve and one player did not get priority between.

cdr
05-26-2010, 11:30 AM
Every time someone does something or something resolves, priority "resets". Both players have to pass priority (which means not doing anything) before the top item of the stack resolves.

Technically per the game rules the active player gets priority again after playing something, but per the tournament rules the player playing something is assumed to be automatically passing unless he says otherwise. Essentially, when you play something, the other player gets priority by default.

Steino
05-26-2010, 12:02 PM
Every time, after one object on the stack resolved, the active player gets priority.


Every time someone does something or something resolves, priority "resets".

Thank you. This clears things up for me.

jazzykat
05-26-2010, 12:22 PM
I think I finally really understand this. I am going to throw out a real life example and see if I do.

I cast CB and pass priority.
My opponent bolts my trinket mage and passes priority.
I allow his bolt to resolve.
Can I cast my own bolt before CB is addressed? ( My assumption is yes)

cdr
05-26-2010, 12:42 PM
Can I cast my own bolt before CB is addressed? ( My assumption is yes)

Yep. Note that (as above) you automatically pass priority when you play something, you don't have to explicitly pass.

five
05-26-2010, 05:40 PM
Yep. Note that (as above) you automatically pass priority when you play something, you don't have to explicitly pass.

My understanding is that you can play as many spells as you want (on the stack) before you pass priority. Of course, you pass priority before any of those spells actually resolve. I don't know when you would actually do this though. Maybe to play your 3 remaining lightning bolts because you don't want that 1 in your 'yard Extripated? Okay, that was weak. Perhaps it is more benificial for the passive player to stack their spells because the active player automatically recieves priority when a spell resolves.

cdr
05-26-2010, 05:50 PM
My understanding is that you can play as many spells as you want (on the stack) before you pass priority.

You can, you just need to explicitly hold priority. If you don't say that you're holding priority while playing something, you pass by default.

Aleksandr
05-26-2010, 06:25 PM
So, question:

It is my oponents turn. I cast a spell. Who gets priority first? My oponent? (Due to APNAP order.)

EDIT: I mean - how can I chain the spells during oponents turn?

cdr
05-26-2010, 06:32 PM
So, question:

It is my oponents turn. I cast a spell. Who gets priority first? My oponent? (Due to APNAP order.)

APNAP is something else. It applies when something that's happening at the same time needs to be ordered, like things coming into play or triggers being put on the stack.

When a player casts a spell they get priority again, but they automatically pass unless they explicitly keep it.


115.3. Which player has priority is determined by the following rules:

115.3a. The active player receives priority at the beginning of most steps and phases, after any turn-based actions (such as drawing a card during the draw step; see rule 703) have been dealt with and abilities that trigger at the beginning of that phase or step have been put on the stack. No player receives priority during the untap step. Players usually don't get priority during the cleanup step (see rule 514.3).

115.3b. The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves.

115.3c. If a player has priority when he or she casts a spell, activates an ability, or takes a special action, that player receives priority afterward. If you want to play multiple spells without passing priority, say that you're keeping priority.

115.3d. If a player has priority and chooses not to take any actions, that player passes. If any mana is in that player's mana pool, he or she announces what mana is there. Then the next player in turn order receives priority.

Aleksandr
05-26-2010, 06:56 PM
Thanks!

Conelead
05-27-2010, 10:17 AM
The holding priority thing is relevant for "Fork" effects that copy spells. If you play a spell and want to Fork (or Twincast, or Echo Mage) it, you have to hold priority and use your spell/ability. If you do not do so, your opponent can simply pass priority back and your spell will resolve, and you will have lost the opportunity to copy your own spell.

EssKay
05-27-2010, 03:55 PM
It's also useful for things like EE and Pernicious Deed. As I understand it, if you activate either without passing priority (or by explicitly keeping it I guess), there is no opportunity for the opponent to Grip before the ability goes on the stack.

heroicraptor
05-27-2010, 04:10 PM
It's also useful for things like EE and Pernicious Deed. As I understand it, if you activate either without passing priority (or by explicitly keeping it I guess), there is no opportunity for the opponent to Grip before the ability goes on the stack.

What? No. Sacrificing EE or Deed is part of the cost. Costs can't be responded to.

cdr
05-27-2010, 06:00 PM
What? No. Sacrificing EE or Deed is part of the cost. Costs can't be responded to.

He means when playing and resolving it, but you don't have to explicitly hold priority to play it and activate it without your opponent having priority to play Krosan Grip - you don't autopass when something resolves.

If you (explicitly) pass when the EE/Deed resolves they can Grip it before you can activate it.

Conelead
05-27-2010, 06:38 PM
I thought you get priority when a spell resolves if you are active player, and you retain it by default until you go do something else (play another spell or try to move to a different step/phase).

Aethan
05-28-2010, 12:30 AM
Here's how it would go:
1. Active player announces they are casting Pernicious Deed, pays costs and passes priority. The spell is now on the stack.
2. Passive player gains priority and now has the opportunity to play spells and abilities. He cannot cast Krosan Grip to destroy the Deed since it isn't on the battlefield yet, so he passes.
3. Pernicious Deed resolves. Per 115.3b. "The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves." The active player gains priority.
4. Active player announces that they are activating Pernicious Deed's ability, pays costs and passes priority. The ability is now on the stack and Pernicious Deed is in the graveyard as a state-based effect.
5. Passive player gains priority and still cannot use Krosan Grip since Pernicious Deed is no longer in play.

Engineered Explosives and Pernicious Deed cannot possibly be Krosan Gripped before the player who cast them can use their abilities. This can only happen if the active player is foolish enough to pass priority after the spell resolves. He must explicitly do this since there is no implicit passing of priority after a spell resolves, only after one is played.

cdr
05-28-2010, 07:06 AM
I thought you get priority when a spell resolves if you are active player, and you retain it by default until you go do something else (play another spell or try to move to a different step/phase).

You're right, I wasn't paying enough attention.

For those curious, here's MTR 4.2 - Shortcuts, #3:


Whenever a player adds an object to the stack, he or she is assumed to be passing priority unless he or she explicitly announces that he or she intends to retain it. If he or she adds a group of objects to the stack without explicitly retaining priority and a player wishes to take an action at a point in the middle, the actions should be reversed up to that point.

Burr
05-28-2010, 04:29 PM
I think i am right but i just want to double check.

I play a Jace, The Mindsculpter. After he resolves i get priority to put 2 counters on him and activate his first ability before my opponent can bolt him to death right?

dschalter
05-28-2010, 04:46 PM
I think i am right but i just want to double check.

I play a Jace, The Mindsculpter. After he resolves i get priority to put 2 counters on him and activate his first ability before my opponent can bolt him to death right?

Correct. When you cast Jace, your opponent gets priority. When he doesn't respond (or after he has responded with something unrelated), priority is passed back to you. Though people usually say you need to explicitly maintain it, from what I've seen judges will almost always side with the player who casts the PW in arguments that arise when someone tries to bolt the PW as soon as it hits play.

Aethan
05-28-2010, 10:24 PM
Correct. When you cast Jace, your opponent gets priority. When he doesn't respond (or after he has responded with something unrelated), priority is passed back to you. Though people usually say you need to explicitly maintain it, from what I've seen judges will almost always side with the player who casts the PW in arguments that arise when someone tries to bolt the PW as soon as it hits play.

This is because priority is only implicitly passed after a spell is played but not after it resolves, this is a crucial difference.