PDA

View Full Version : Changing Control of Creatures



Aethan
05-27-2010, 11:28 PM
I was playing a MWS game in which my opponent had a Stuffy Doll in play. I used Vedalken Shackes to gain control of the doll. When I gained control I chose my opponent as the target for the, "As Stuffy Doll enters the battlefield, choose a player." triggered ability. He said, "can't do that." To which I responded, "Change of control effects are handled as though the permanent had just entered the battlefield so the effect retriggers." I dug into the M10 rules but can't seem too find any mention of how to handle this other than it occuring in layer 2 of continuous effects. Am I correct in that the ability retriggers? Where is the rule that handles this?

heroicraptor
05-28-2010, 12:24 AM
Creatures changing control do not leave and reenter the battlefield. They just change control. You do not get to make a choice as to Stuffy Doll's "as ~ enters the battlefield" ability.

Malchar
05-28-2010, 12:50 AM
"Change of control effects are handled as though the permanent had just entered the battlefield so the effect retriggers."
This is not true, which is why you couldn't find any m2010 rules supporting it. The stuffy doll ability only happens when it says it happens, which is as it enters the battlefield, not when it changes ownership. Basically, stealing the doll doesn't affect the doll's ability at all.

cdr
05-28-2010, 07:16 AM
Yep, the only thing that happens when permanents change controllers is that they're once again subject to "summoning sickness", that wonderful old misnomer. There's obviously no zone change - it never left play.