PDA

View Full Version : Fork and a Fireball



EricSS
06-17-2010, 06:12 AM
Ok, the group know it all is telling me that using Fork on a Fireball is pointless because the x factor on the fork spell will = 0. I did some research and believe that that is wrong. Can anyone confirm this?

jthanatos
06-17-2010, 06:43 AM
You are correct. http://gatherer.wizards.com/pages/card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=1294

Relevant part : 10/4/2004 Forking a spell with an X in the cost requires you to use the same X value.

cdr
06-17-2010, 06:48 AM
107.3a. (http://yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#R1073a) ... While a spell is on the stack, any X in its mana cost equals the announced value. ...

706.9. (http://yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#R7069) ... A copy of a spell or ability copies both the characteristics of the spell or ability and all decisions made for it, including modes, targets, the value of X, and additional or alternative costs. ...

X is defined while a spell or ability is on the stack, and 0 anywhere else.

The value of X is copyable, so copies of spells or abilities will copy the value of X.

EricSS
06-17-2010, 06:50 AM
Thanks both of you. I really like that yawgatog site, I havent seen it before.