Taurelin
06-22-2010, 06:20 PM
Quick question:
I have a Counterbalance in play. My opponent plays a morph creature.
Can I counter that with a land on top of my library?
I assume yes, because you play the morph creature as a creature with no mana cost. An no mana cost means CC0
Right?
Edit:
Just for the record: I'm "juh" here, and he didn't even want to play g2 or 3 :/
[S]IsThisACatInAHat? plays a facedown card from Hand
<juh> Thinking
juh taps Snow-Covered Island
juh is looking top 3 cards of its Library...
juh rearranges cards in juh's Library
juh stops looking its Library...
juh reveals a Snow-Covered Island
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> Ok
[S]IsThisACatInAHat? taps Tundra
[S]IsThisACatInAHat? taps Tundra
[S]IsThisACatInAHat? plays Serra Avenger from Hand
<juh> CC0
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> no
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> 3
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> on the stack
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> its 0 once it hits
<juh> you pay 3 for an object with no mana cost
<juh> no mana cost = CC0
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> on the stack, the spell costs 3
<juh> true, but cost is not CC3
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> its in the comprehensive rules, if you'd like to check
<juh> let me check the ruling on morph
<juh> 702.34a. Morph is a static ability that functions in any zone from which you could play the card it's on, and the morph effect works any time the card is face down. "Morph [cost]" means "You may cast this card as a 2/2 face-down creature, with no text, no name, no subtypes, no expansion symbol, and no mana cost by paying {3} rather than paying its mana cost." (See rule 707, "Face-Down Spells and Permanents.")
<juh> -> no mana cost
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> the cmc of the spell
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> is 3
<juh> 202.3a. The converted mana cost of an object with no mana cost is 0.
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> now ill have to go look
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> ive had a lot of judges be very wrong
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> if such is teh case
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> somehow i doubt some guy on mws
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> is correct
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> over level 2 and 3 judges
<juh> read what i have written
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> gime a minute
<juh> ok
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> 707.4. Objects that are cast face down are turned face down before they are put onto the stack, so effects that care about the characteristics of a spell will see only the face-down spell’s characteristics. Any effects or prohibitions that would apply to casting an object with these characteristics (and not the face-up object’s characteristics) are applied to casting this object.
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> it's in 707
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> casting face down cards
<juh> yes, but mana costs are part of the characteristics
<juh> you are on the source, right?
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> yes
<juh> let's just ask there
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> um
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> why?
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> that literally proves right there
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> face down cards only care about the characteristics of the face down card
<juh> no, you misunderstand
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> -_-
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> fail
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> ok
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> go ahead and ask
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> or would you like me to?
<juh> i'm "Taurelin" @ the source, btw
<juh> might take a while, but i'll bet a beer that i'm right
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> alright
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> ill expect it @GP columbus
<juh> http://www.mtgthesource.com/forums/showthread.php?18014-Counterbalance-and-Morph&p=465742
<juh> we'll wait
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> looks like cdr isnt on
<juh> too bad
<juh> well, there is also this: http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080516182527AAWbO31
<juh> even though it's not as official as the source
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> well yes
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> a land counters LED, mox
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> etc
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> because they actually cost 0
<juh> no, because their CC is 0
<juh> that#s a difference
<juh> imagine playing a chrome mox with trinisphere in play
<juh> it costs 3, but its CC is still 0
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> yes
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> it does
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> we
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> can give it 5 minutes
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> otherwise, you can just have it
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> i want to end this so i can go
<juh> and as i quoted, a moprph creature has no mana cost. and the other rule said that "no mana cost" means "CC = 0 "
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> yes, except on the stack
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> the spell costs 3
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> if its resolved, it costs 0
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> ergo its cost is 3
<juh> cost yes, but not converted mana cost
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> clearly, something we need a ruling on
<juh> indeed
<juh> another forum link (german though)
<juh> http://www.mtg-forum.de/thread-morph-umgewandelte-manakosten-29381.html?hl=counterbalance+morph
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> i dont speak german
<juh> the quote in the second post is english
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> i guess that's close enough
[S]IsThisACatInAHat? puts facedown card to Graveyard from Play
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> avenger ok?
juh hides card in library
<juh> Ok
...
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> gg
<juh> gg
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> cya
<System> Player Lost
So, you owe me a beer, mate!
I have a Counterbalance in play. My opponent plays a morph creature.
Can I counter that with a land on top of my library?
I assume yes, because you play the morph creature as a creature with no mana cost. An no mana cost means CC0
Right?
Edit:
Just for the record: I'm "juh" here, and he didn't even want to play g2 or 3 :/
[S]IsThisACatInAHat? plays a facedown card from Hand
<juh> Thinking
juh taps Snow-Covered Island
juh is looking top 3 cards of its Library...
juh rearranges cards in juh's Library
juh stops looking its Library...
juh reveals a Snow-Covered Island
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> Ok
[S]IsThisACatInAHat? taps Tundra
[S]IsThisACatInAHat? taps Tundra
[S]IsThisACatInAHat? plays Serra Avenger from Hand
<juh> CC0
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> no
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> 3
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> on the stack
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> its 0 once it hits
<juh> you pay 3 for an object with no mana cost
<juh> no mana cost = CC0
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> on the stack, the spell costs 3
<juh> true, but cost is not CC3
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> its in the comprehensive rules, if you'd like to check
<juh> let me check the ruling on morph
<juh> 702.34a. Morph is a static ability that functions in any zone from which you could play the card it's on, and the morph effect works any time the card is face down. "Morph [cost]" means "You may cast this card as a 2/2 face-down creature, with no text, no name, no subtypes, no expansion symbol, and no mana cost by paying {3} rather than paying its mana cost." (See rule 707, "Face-Down Spells and Permanents.")
<juh> -> no mana cost
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> the cmc of the spell
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> is 3
<juh> 202.3a. The converted mana cost of an object with no mana cost is 0.
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> now ill have to go look
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> ive had a lot of judges be very wrong
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> if such is teh case
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> somehow i doubt some guy on mws
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> is correct
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> over level 2 and 3 judges
<juh> read what i have written
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> gime a minute
<juh> ok
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> 707.4. Objects that are cast face down are turned face down before they are put onto the stack, so effects that care about the characteristics of a spell will see only the face-down spell’s characteristics. Any effects or prohibitions that would apply to casting an object with these characteristics (and not the face-up object’s characteristics) are applied to casting this object.
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> it's in 707
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> casting face down cards
<juh> yes, but mana costs are part of the characteristics
<juh> you are on the source, right?
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> yes
<juh> let's just ask there
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> um
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> why?
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> that literally proves right there
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> face down cards only care about the characteristics of the face down card
<juh> no, you misunderstand
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> -_-
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> fail
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> ok
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> go ahead and ask
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> or would you like me to?
<juh> i'm "Taurelin" @ the source, btw
<juh> might take a while, but i'll bet a beer that i'm right
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> alright
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> ill expect it @GP columbus
<juh> http://www.mtgthesource.com/forums/showthread.php?18014-Counterbalance-and-Morph&p=465742
<juh> we'll wait
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> looks like cdr isnt on
<juh> too bad
<juh> well, there is also this: http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080516182527AAWbO31
<juh> even though it's not as official as the source
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> well yes
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> a land counters LED, mox
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> etc
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> because they actually cost 0
<juh> no, because their CC is 0
<juh> that#s a difference
<juh> imagine playing a chrome mox with trinisphere in play
<juh> it costs 3, but its CC is still 0
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> yes
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> it does
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> we
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> can give it 5 minutes
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> otherwise, you can just have it
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> i want to end this so i can go
<juh> and as i quoted, a moprph creature has no mana cost. and the other rule said that "no mana cost" means "CC = 0 "
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> yes, except on the stack
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> the spell costs 3
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> if its resolved, it costs 0
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> ergo its cost is 3
<juh> cost yes, but not converted mana cost
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> clearly, something we need a ruling on
<juh> indeed
<juh> another forum link (german though)
<juh> http://www.mtg-forum.de/thread-morph-umgewandelte-manakosten-29381.html?hl=counterbalance+morph
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> i dont speak german
<juh> the quote in the second post is english
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> i guess that's close enough
[S]IsThisACatInAHat? puts facedown card to Graveyard from Play
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> avenger ok?
juh hides card in library
<juh> Ok
...
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> gg
<juh> gg
<[S]IsThisACatInAHat?> cya
<System> Player Lost
So, you owe me a beer, mate!