Log in

View Full Version : fling + master of etherium



Ziveeman
07-15-2010, 06:54 PM
master of etherium + fling
when does the damage equal to the sacrificed creature's power "lock in"? would it deal damage equal to the master's power or its power minus one? (since master is no longer on the field and its 1 less artifact on the field) also, if another artifact is destroyed before fling resolves, would it modify how much damage fling deals since the master's power changes? i remember a rule where the stars in a power/toughness box applies in all zones so im not sure if itll look at that or last known info.

sorry if im not clear, im posting on my phone. also i cant get the card tags right and my phone is slow so i cant find out how :(

mchainmail
07-15-2010, 07:14 PM
master of etherium + fling
when does the damage equal to the sacrificed creature's power "lock in"? would it deal damage equal to the master's power or its power minus one? (since master is no longer on the field and its 1 less artifact on the field) also, if another artifact is destroyed before fling resolves, would it modify how much damage fling deals since the master's power changes? i remember a rule where the stars in a power/toughness box applies in all zones so im not sure if itll look at that or last known info.

sorry if im not clear, im posting on my phone. also i cant get the card tags right and my phone is slow so i cant find out how :(

card tags: Master of Etherium
Fling uses last-known information; what the card would be right before it left play. So if you have 3 artifacts and Master, flinging Master would deal 4 to the target.

EDIT: Didn't know about the [noparse] tags, thanks CDR!

cdr
07-15-2010, 09:50 PM
Do you really need to be posting from your phone? If you need an answer right away, try the #mtgrules IRC channel.

Spelling, capitalization, grammar, etc are important on The Source.

That said:

Last Known Information: Information about an object that's no longer in the zone it's expected to be in, or information about a player that's no longer in the game. This information captures that object's last existence in that zone or that player's last existence in the game. See rules 112.7a, 608.2b, 608.2g, and 800.4f.

608.2g. If an effect requires information from the game (such as the number of creatures on the battlefield), the answer is determined only once, when the effect is applied. If the effect requires information from a specific object, including the source of the ability itself or a target that's become illegal, the effect uses the current information of that object if it's in the public zone it was expected to be in; if it's no longer in that zone, or if the effect has moved it from a public zone to a hidden zone, the effect uses the object's last known information. See rule 112.7a. If an ability states that an object does something, it's the object as it exists--or as it most recently existed--that does it, not the ability.

Ziveeman
07-15-2010, 10:51 PM
Do you really need to be posting from your phone? If you need an answer right away, try the #mtgrules IRC channel.

Spelling, capitalization, grammar, etc are important on The Source.

That said:

Last Known Information: Information about an object that's no longer in the zone it's expected to be in, or information about a player that's no longer in the game. This information captures that object's last existence in that zone or that player's last existence in the game. See rules 112.7a, 608.2b, 608.2g, and 800.4f.

608.2g. If an effect requires information from the game (such as the number of creatures on the battlefield), the answer is determined only once, when the effect is applied. If the effect requires information from a specific object, including the source of the ability itself or a target that's become illegal, the effect uses the current information of that object if it's in the public zone it was expected to be in; if it's no longer in that zone, or if the effect has moved it from a public zone to a hidden zone, the effect uses the object's last known information. See rule 112.7a. If an ability states that an object does something, it's the object as it exists--or as it most recently existed--that does it, not the ability.

Question came to me while I was driving to work because it happened last night and I was thinking about it cuz it cost my friend the game. I couldn't wait any longer during work so I posted it from my phone. Was kinda rushing too so my boss wouldn't walk in :P

Anyways, thanks guys, consider this question solved.