Offler
04-12-2011, 05:31 AM
1. Regeneration
Wording taken from Drudge skeletons
B: Regenerate Drudge Skeletons. (The next time this creature would be destroyed this turn, it isn't. Instead tap it, remove all damage from it, and remove it from combat.)
I had to found keyword regeneration to understand that its an replacement effect which is applied when the skeleton has to be destroyed.
Example:
1. 3/3 creature attacks
2. Drudge skeletons 1/1 is declared as blocker
3. Regeneration cost has been paid.
4. Damage step. Damage is dealt. 3 to skeleton, 1 to other creature.
5. Skeleton is tapped and removed from combat instead of putting onto graveyard.
What made a mess to me is fact that Regeneration is not considered as activated ability. The cost is paid, but the resolution is expected only if Drudge skeleton has to be destroyed.
2. Timmy the pinger - Prodigal sorcerer
I am being attacked by 2/2 creature and Prodigal sorcerer is the only creature i control. I will declare him as blocker and then tap it to activate its ability. The ability (in contrast to regeneration) does not remove him from combat.
The opponent claimed that I can declare Prodigal Sorcerer as blocker, and tap it to activate his ability, however it deals only 1 damage since i have tapped him. However I am not aware of anything that removes it from combat if being tapped, because
506.4b Tapping or untapping a creature that's already been declared as an attacker or blocker doesn't remove it from combat and doesn't prevent its combat damage.
The rule does not mention any specialities how the creature has to be tapped-untapped so i suggest this apply to all form of tapping.
3. Not sure when damage wears off... At the end of phase, step or turn?
*Continues reading of comprehensive rules*
Thanks
Wording taken from Drudge skeletons
B: Regenerate Drudge Skeletons. (The next time this creature would be destroyed this turn, it isn't. Instead tap it, remove all damage from it, and remove it from combat.)
I had to found keyword regeneration to understand that its an replacement effect which is applied when the skeleton has to be destroyed.
Example:
1. 3/3 creature attacks
2. Drudge skeletons 1/1 is declared as blocker
3. Regeneration cost has been paid.
4. Damage step. Damage is dealt. 3 to skeleton, 1 to other creature.
5. Skeleton is tapped and removed from combat instead of putting onto graveyard.
What made a mess to me is fact that Regeneration is not considered as activated ability. The cost is paid, but the resolution is expected only if Drudge skeleton has to be destroyed.
2. Timmy the pinger - Prodigal sorcerer
I am being attacked by 2/2 creature and Prodigal sorcerer is the only creature i control. I will declare him as blocker and then tap it to activate its ability. The ability (in contrast to regeneration) does not remove him from combat.
The opponent claimed that I can declare Prodigal Sorcerer as blocker, and tap it to activate his ability, however it deals only 1 damage since i have tapped him. However I am not aware of anything that removes it from combat if being tapped, because
506.4b Tapping or untapping a creature that's already been declared as an attacker or blocker doesn't remove it from combat and doesn't prevent its combat damage.
The rule does not mention any specialities how the creature has to be tapped-untapped so i suggest this apply to all form of tapping.
3. Not sure when damage wears off... At the end of phase, step or turn?
*Continues reading of comprehensive rules*
Thanks