Log in

View Full Version : Some things with combat



Offler
04-12-2011, 05:31 AM
1. Regeneration

Wording taken from Drudge skeletons

B: Regenerate Drudge Skeletons. (The next time this creature would be destroyed this turn, it isn't. Instead tap it, remove all damage from it, and remove it from combat.)

I had to found keyword regeneration to understand that its an replacement effect which is applied when the skeleton has to be destroyed.

Example:
1. 3/3 creature attacks
2. Drudge skeletons 1/1 is declared as blocker
3. Regeneration cost has been paid.
4. Damage step. Damage is dealt. 3 to skeleton, 1 to other creature.
5. Skeleton is tapped and removed from combat instead of putting onto graveyard.

What made a mess to me is fact that Regeneration is not considered as activated ability. The cost is paid, but the resolution is expected only if Drudge skeleton has to be destroyed.

2. Timmy the pinger - Prodigal sorcerer
I am being attacked by 2/2 creature and Prodigal sorcerer is the only creature i control. I will declare him as blocker and then tap it to activate its ability. The ability (in contrast to regeneration) does not remove him from combat.

The opponent claimed that I can declare Prodigal Sorcerer as blocker, and tap it to activate his ability, however it deals only 1 damage since i have tapped him. However I am not aware of anything that removes it from combat if being tapped, because

506.4b Tapping or untapping a creature that's already been declared as an attacker or blocker doesn't remove it from combat and doesn't prevent its combat damage.

The rule does not mention any specialities how the creature has to be tapped-untapped so i suggest this apply to all form of tapping.

3. Not sure when damage wears off... At the end of phase, step or turn?

*Continues reading of comprehensive rules*

Thanks

practical joke
04-12-2011, 06:11 AM
Most legacy players ignore any facet of combat except that the difference between an attacking tarmogoyfs power and a blocking tarmogoyfs toughness is 1.

I mean counting to 10 = win
and sometimes tapping 16 goblins sideways should be enough ( expecting one dies at each block)

dorsch
04-12-2011, 06:14 AM
1. Regeneration

Wording taken from Drudge skeletons

B: Regenerate Drudge Skeletons. (The next time this creature would be destroyed this turn, it isn't. Instead tap it, remove all damage from it, and remove it from combat.)

I had to found keyword regeneration to understand that its an replacement effect which is applied when the skeleton has to be destroyed.

Example:
1. 3/3 creature attacks
2. Drudge skeletons 1/1 is declared as blocker
3. Regeneration cost has been paid.
4. Damage step. Damage is dealt. 3 to skeleton, 1 to other creature.
5. Skeleton is tapped and removed from combat instead of putting onto graveyard.

You are correct.



What made a mess to me is fact that Regeneration is not considered as activated ability. The cost is paid, but the resolution is expected only if Drudge skeleton has to be destroyed.

The Skeletons have an activated ability, which goes on the stack. When it resolves (on resolution), it creates a regeneration shield. When the Skeletons would be destroyed the creature regenerates ( the regenaration shield replaces the "being destroyed" by "remove all damage marked on it and tap it. If it’s an attacking or blocking creature, remove it from combat.")



2. Timmy the pinger - Prodigal sorcerer
I am being attacked by 2/2 creature and Prodigal sorcerer is the only creature i control. I will declare him as blocker and then tap it to activate its ability. The ability (in contrast to regeneration) does not remove him from combat.

The opponent claimed that I can declare Prodigal Sorcerer as blocker, and tap it to activate his ability, however it deals only 1 damage since i have tapped him. However I am not aware of anything that removes it from combat if being tapped, because

506.4b Tapping or untapping a creature that's already been declared as an attacker or blocker doesn't remove it from combat and doesn't prevent its combat damage.

The rule does not mention any specialities how the creature has to be tapped-untapped so i suggest this apply to all form of tapping.

You are correct again. A long time ago there was a rule, which said tapped creatures do not deal combat damage. Today this iswrong.




3. Not sure when damage wears off... At the end of phase, step or turn?
514. Cleanup Step
514.2. Second, the following actions happen simultaneously: all damage marked on permanents
(including phased-out permanents) is removed and all “until end of turn” and “this turn” effects end.
This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack.



*Continues reading of comprehensive rules*

Thanks

Offler
04-12-2011, 06:27 AM
to Practical Joke:
I used to play cards which only block well and-or effects which taps all 16 goblins, however i added some creatures lately which caused that my combo deck can kill in its aggro "mode" by flying creatures. Thats why i have to take care about combat this time :D