PDA

View Full Version : True-Name Nemesis, Misdirection, & Abrupt Decay



Star|Scream
11-25-2013, 01:06 PM
True-Name Nemesis Abrupt Decay Misdirection

Player A controls a TNN. Player A attempts to abrupt decay a permanent controlled by Player B

Can Player B Misdirect the abrupt decay to Player A's TNN, killing it?



If yes, can you please list why and how it bypasses the protection against targeting?

Thanks!

warfordium
11-25-2013, 01:18 PM
misdirection has one target: the spell. its controller does not change.

Kayradis
11-25-2013, 01:33 PM
In the same train of thought,
someone was asking me if you can stifle the TNN ETB trigger.
Couldn't answer.

Technics
11-25-2013, 01:38 PM
In the same train of thought,
someone was asking me if you can stifle the TNN ETB trigger.
Couldn't answer.

You can't. Same reason you can't stifle Iona, or Phyrexian Revoker.

Iona's second ability ("As Iona, Shield of Emeria enters the battlefield, choose a color.") is a static ability that creates a replacement effect, which modifies how Iona enters the battlefield. Since it is not a triggered ability (there's no "When, Whenever or At" present) nor an activated ability (the absense of "[cost] : [effect]" wording), it can't be countered by Stifle.

whienot
11-25-2013, 01:39 PM
In the same train of thought,
someone was asking me if you can stifle the TNN ETB trigger.
Couldn't answer.

TNN doens't have a ETB trigger. "As *this* enter the battlefield" is a static ability not a triggered ability. Static abilities do not use the stack and cannot be countered.

edit:*nath'd

Kayradis
11-25-2013, 01:51 PM
That what I believed, but I'd rather be sure than guide someone else in a wrong direction!

Thanks folks!

Star|Scream
11-25-2013, 01:54 PM
misdirection has one target: the spell. its controller does not change.

So you can misdirect a decay onto someone's Nemesis? Doesn't Player B still have to target the Nemesis with the misdirection? (It says target like 3 times on the card!)

Technics
11-25-2013, 02:02 PM
So you can misdirect a decay onto someone's Nemesis? Doesn't Player B still have to target the Nemesis with the misdirection? (It says target like 3 times on the card!)

You choose a new target for Decay. However the controller of the spell is still Player A (controller of TNN), so the protection never kicks in, and Decay can target the TNN.

Although Player B chooses the target for Decay, it's still not a spell controlled by Player B, so there are no restrictions on targeting the TNN.

warfordium
11-25-2013, 02:14 PM
So you can misdirect a decay onto someone's Nemesis? Doesn't Player B still have to target the Nemesis with the misdirection? (It says target like 3 times on the card!)

this came up on oarsman's stream a few times lately, the card text on Misdirection is no good. In my opinion it should read more like Redirect (were it possible with the new tempting given the single-target restriction.

Technics
11-25-2013, 02:19 PM
this came up on oarsman's stream a few times lately, the card text on Misdirection is no good. In my opinion it should read more like Redirect (were it possible with the new tempting given the single-target restriction.

I see nothing wrong with the wording. You choose a new target. Because the Decay is not controlled by you, even though you are the one targeting the TNN, it's not "controlled by the opponent" because the controller of the decay is still player A, there is no restriction...

warfordium
11-25-2013, 02:52 PM
(It says target like 3 times on the card!)

for clarification, the extra instances of "target" is what i don't like.

cdr
11-25-2013, 04:55 PM
You can always complain at the rules manager if you don't like card text, they listen. You can find Tabak's email on Wizards.com or hit him up on Twitter.

Without going back and studying the appropriate rules, I'm not sure whether you could change how Misdirection is worded without functionally changing it.

BJeagle
12-18-2013, 03:36 AM
Can Tropical Storm "Tropical Storm deals X damage to each creature with flying and 1 additional damage to each blue creature." kill TNN?

Goin Aggro
12-18-2013, 05:32 AM
no, protection prevents DEBT.

D - Damage from whatever the chosen source is (Color, player, enchantments, etc)

E - Enchanting/Equipping can't be enchanted/equipped by things controlled by or with the characteristic that is being protected

B - Blocked by things of color/type

T - Targeted.

The thing falls under the first one

Meekrab
12-18-2013, 11:58 PM
You can always complain at the rules manager if you don't like card text, they listen. You can find Tabak's email on Wizards.com or hit him up on Twitter.

Without going back and studying the appropriate rules, I'm not sure whether you could change how Misdirection is worded without functionally changing it.
"Choose a new target for target spell with a single target."

Reduces the number of 'target's in the text by 1 and makes it slightly more obvious that Misdirection only targets the spell.

Purgatory
12-28-2013, 02:43 PM
"Choose a new target for target spell with a single target."

Reduces the number of 'target's in the text by 1 and makes it slightly more obvious that Misdirection only targets the spell.

The oracle reads "Change the target of target spell with a single target."