apple713
01-16-2014, 02:41 PM
if opponent has an active death rite shaman and I cast flame jab on it, Will I be able to flame jab it again before he ever has an opportunity to remove it from the game with DRS's ability, or any other ability for that matter?
601.2. To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Casting a spell follows the steps listed below, in order. If, at any point during the casting of a spell, a player is unable to comply with any of the steps listed below, the casting of the spell is illegal; the game returns to the moment before that spell started to be cast (see rule 717, “Handling Illegal Actions”). Announcements and payments can’t be altered after they’ve been made.
608.2k As the final part of an instant or sorcery spell’s resolution, the spell is put into its owner’s graveyard. As the final part of an ability’s resolution, the ability is removed from the stack and ceases to exist.
116.3b The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves.
What I'm gathering from the above rules is that opponent will not have an opportunity to remove flame jab in between multiple castings of flame jab.
is the sequence of events below accurate?
cast flame jab targeting DRS
opponent gets priority (flame jab is on stack and not in grave)
Flame jab resolves and leave the stack and enters graveyard
active player (being me) maintains priority
cast flame jab from the graveyard targeting DRS
opponent gets priority (flame jab is on stack and not in grave)
Flame jab resolves and leave the stack and enters graveyard
601.2. To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Casting a spell follows the steps listed below, in order. If, at any point during the casting of a spell, a player is unable to comply with any of the steps listed below, the casting of the spell is illegal; the game returns to the moment before that spell started to be cast (see rule 717, “Handling Illegal Actions”). Announcements and payments can’t be altered after they’ve been made.
608.2k As the final part of an instant or sorcery spell’s resolution, the spell is put into its owner’s graveyard. As the final part of an ability’s resolution, the ability is removed from the stack and ceases to exist.
116.3b The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves.
What I'm gathering from the above rules is that opponent will not have an opportunity to remove flame jab in between multiple castings of flame jab.
is the sequence of events below accurate?
cast flame jab targeting DRS
opponent gets priority (flame jab is on stack and not in grave)
Flame jab resolves and leave the stack and enters graveyard
active player (being me) maintains priority
cast flame jab from the graveyard targeting DRS
opponent gets priority (flame jab is on stack and not in grave)
Flame jab resolves and leave the stack and enters graveyard