Kich867
02-14-2014, 07:24 PM
What happens if you activate shackles, hold priority, untap it via some method, then activate it again targeting another creature.
The ruling only states that you don't gain control of the creature if Vedalken Shackles is untapped before the ability resolves. Now, at first I thought that answered my question but under what circumstance does an ability on the stack have any idea that the shackles is tapped or untapped until it attempts to actually resolve? So I take this to assume that they are trying to say, "You cannot activate shackles then untap it so that the ability never has a chance to trigger losing the creature on untap" -- much the same way that you can bounce an Oblivion Ring with it's first ability on the stack so that it's second ability triggers first, thus exiling a nonland permanent forever.
In my head, given that both activations of Shackles upon resolution see a tapped shackles wouldn't you be controlling both creatures? If this isn't the case, I'm a little confused as to what would cause that happen. Are there any other circumstances where after an ability activates, but prior to it's resolution, conditions are checked that would fizzle the ability--despite the fact that the condition for it resolving is true at resolution?
The ruling only states that you don't gain control of the creature if Vedalken Shackles is untapped before the ability resolves. Now, at first I thought that answered my question but under what circumstance does an ability on the stack have any idea that the shackles is tapped or untapped until it attempts to actually resolve? So I take this to assume that they are trying to say, "You cannot activate shackles then untap it so that the ability never has a chance to trigger losing the creature on untap" -- much the same way that you can bounce an Oblivion Ring with it's first ability on the stack so that it's second ability triggers first, thus exiling a nonland permanent forever.
In my head, given that both activations of Shackles upon resolution see a tapped shackles wouldn't you be controlling both creatures? If this isn't the case, I'm a little confused as to what would cause that happen. Are there any other circumstances where after an ability activates, but prior to it's resolution, conditions are checked that would fizzle the ability--despite the fact that the condition for it resolving is true at resolution?