View Full Version : Mimeoplasm + Minamo, School at Water's Edge
AngryTroll
03-06-2014, 10:43 AM
I have a quick question. Can I untap a The Mimeoplasm (copying, say, a Colossus of Sardia with Polar Kraken counters on it) with Minamo, School at Water's Edge?
Sakashima the Impostor is worded such that it is clearly still legendary while copying another creature. I also know that The Mimeoplasm only needs to deal 21 damage to kill with Commander Damage. I assume that Minamo will not work as it seems to lose it's Legendary status but keep its "Commander-ness," but my playgroup couldn't decide last time it came up.
Finally, is there any way put 99 counters on The Mimeoplasm with Big Furry Monster?
Copying copies mainly the "printed" values of the card, which of course includes types. If you copy a nonlegendary card, the copy will not be legendary unless the copy effect specifically says it becomes legendary.
http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#R706
AngryTroll
03-06-2014, 05:32 PM
Copying copies mainly the "printed" values of the card, which of course includes types. If you copy a nonlegendary card, the copy will not be legendary unless the copy effect specifically says it becomes legendary.
Thank you. The "Commander-ness" stays on the Mimeoplasm, but the while in play it's not Legendary.
Thank you. The "Commander-ness" stays on the Mimeoplasm, but the while in play it's not Legendary.
http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#R903
903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation even when it changes zones.
Example: A commander that's been turned face down (due to Ixidron's effect, for example) is still a commander. A commander that's copying another card (due to Cytoshape's effect, for example) is still a commander. A permanent that's copying a commander (such as a Body Double, for example, copying a commander in a player's graveyard) is not a commander.
Valtrix
03-09-2014, 01:13 AM
Finally, is there any way put 99 counters on The Mimeoplasm with Big Furry Monster?
Deciding if and how to play with unglued/unhinged cards is something that you have to decide within your playgroup.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.