PDA

View Full Version : Cabal Therapy Resolution



Derm
06-30-2014, 04:21 PM
This is not about the whole can-I-change-what-I-named thing. I have a different question:

I cast Cabal Therapy targeting my opponent.

I don't name a card prematurely; instead, I wait to see if he/she has a response.

My opponent asks me what I'd like to name.

At this point, has my opponent forfeited their chance to respond? If they ask me what I name and I name something they don't want me to snag with my Cabal Therapy, can they THEN decide to Spell Pierce, Force of Will, etc.?

And most importantly: can I hold firm to this? If the match is on the line and I really want my Cabal Therapy to resolve, can I dig in, call a judge, and insist that when my opponent asked, "Naming?" he or she made a binding move?

Barook
06-30-2014, 04:28 PM
This is not about the whole can-I-change-what-I-named thing. I have a different question:

I cast Cabal Therapy targeting my opponent.

I don't name a card prematurely; instead, I wait to see if he/she has a response.

My opponent asks me what I'd like to name.

At this point, has my opponent forfeited their chance to respond? If they ask me what I name and I name something they don't want me to snag with my Cabal Therapy, can they THEN decide to Spell Pierce, Force of Will, etc.?

And most importantly: can I hold firm to this? If the match is on the line and I really want my Cabal Therapy to resolve, can I dig in, call a judge, and insist that when my opponent asked, "Naming?" he or she made a binding move?
If your opponent asks for a name, your Cabal Therapy is resolving and yes, you should be able to call a judge for that.

Megadeus
06-30-2014, 04:48 PM
Yeah once my opponent asks for a name, the spell has resolved since you don't name until resolution. Same with Revoker, Meddling Mage, and Pithing Needle

PirateKing
07-01-2014, 07:52 AM
This was actually a bad habit a friend of mine had that I helped him break. On every cast of Oblivion Ring he would ask "targeting?" then try and counter it. "Naming?" is a shortcut saying I have no responses, the spell resolves, what do you name.

Julian23
07-01-2014, 08:08 AM
This was actually a bad habit a friend of mine had that I helped him break. On every cast of Oblivion Ring he would ask "targeting?" then try and counter it. "Naming?" is a shortcut saying I have no responses, the spell resolves, what do you name.

I always ask "target" when my opponent casts Cabal Therapy, more out of being annoyed by people not properly announcing their spells than me trying to fool them; still, every once in a while people will then proceed to name a card.

People, announce your targets, even when you think it's obvious.

PirateKing
07-01-2014, 08:23 AM
I always ask "target" when my opponent casts Cabal Therapy, more out of being annoyed by people not properly announcing their spells than me trying to fool them; still, every once in a while people will then proceed to name a card.

People, announce your targets, even when you think it's obvious.

Well the whole target player on Cabal Therapy and Thoughtseize makes for atypical interactions to watch for, sure. In this case though, it was Oblivion Ring, asking for a target means the enchantment is already beyond the stack.

Esper3k
07-01-2014, 08:56 AM
I always ask "target" when my opponent casts Cabal Therapy, more out of being annoyed by people not properly announcing their spells than me trying to fool them; still, every once in a while people will then proceed to name a card.

People, announce your targets, even when you think it's obvious.

That's annoying too when they don't properly announce target player with Therapy / Thoughtseize. I've also been "gotten" by someone when they cast Thoughtseize, I showed my hand, then they said they were targeting themselves and proceeded to discard Griselbrand and Reanimate them :(

I've also actually had opponents get annoyed when I ask who they are targeting with those spells. It's like wtf, follow the rules dude!

Megadeus
07-01-2014, 10:16 AM
Yeah I always ask for a target. And with Discard that targets, I always announce or at least point at my opponent. "Thoughtseize you", "Thoughtseize" *Point at my opponent"

T-101
08-10-2014, 12:16 AM
This is a tricky question, Derm.

If you are playing at Competitive, and there is a judge present who knows the rules sufficiently, then yes, opponent saying "Naming?" means your Therapy has resolved. A knowledgable judge will tell you that your opponent has shortcutted to the resolution of your spell.

BUT, we live on Earth, and not all judges know everything, and not all legacy events are run at competitive.

When I am looking to conceal my named card, I just go ahead and ask, "Therapy resolves?" Yes, that means I miss a few percentage points here and there, but that way I am always sure when I can name a card without them trying to back up, or what ever. Even if they aren't trying to game it, I have explained it clearly, and gotten them to agree that Therapy is resolving.