View Full Version : Grenzo, Dungeon Warden & Rest in Peace
Olaf Forkbeard
10-02-2014, 11:12 PM
Does a plain Grenzo, Dungeon Warden's activated ability put the creature into play if it reveals a 2 or less powered creature while Rest in Peace is in play?
I'm reasonably sure the answer is yes, What I really would like to know if I have the rules on why that's the case correct.
Source 400.7g (http://magiccards.info/rule/400-general.html#rule-400-7)
tescrin
10-03-2014, 01:37 AM
EDIT: I'm actually still looking into this. It would seem others believe differently on the gatherer.
EDIT 2: My original answer is incorrect. 400.7g does what it sounds like it does.
References for others dealing with the same topic:
http://www.ligamagic.com.br/?view=forum/mensagem&id=116065
http://www.ligamagic.com.br/?view=forum/mensagem&id=115876
The ability would fail if it said "return from the graveyard to the battlefield", but since it has no specification it is free to track it.
Note that it will fail to Wheel of Sun and Moon or any other card that would move it to a non-public zone (such as a face down exile pile, to your library, or similar.)
Sorry if you saw my incorrect answer.
Olaf Forkbeard
10-03-2014, 02:09 AM
I appreciate the answer, and I too had to "double take" when I found this out. I have noted the Wheel of Sun and Moon type situations previously, just not on this thread. This does make me feel better though. It seems every person I talked to is of the opinion: "The answer was no, until I researched it." I can say it works in good conscious now.
And I guess it's a good thing I never saw your original post.
Rest in Peace is "instead", a replacement effect. Grenzo's effect becomes "Put the bottom card of your library in your exile zone ... put it onto the battlefield." As long as its own effect is moving the card, it knows exactly where the card is.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.