PDA

View Full Version : Preacher and TNN



shrubs
02-13-2015, 10:47 PM
Say I tap Preacher while my opponent only has True-Name Nemesis, which names myself, in play. Since Preacher states that 'gain control of target creature of an opponent's choice he or she controls,' does that circumvent TNN's protection from me, since the opponent chooses the target?

I hope that makes sense. It must be pretty obvious to everyone but me, I can find nothing about this with google-fu.

iamajellydonut
02-14-2015, 12:00 AM
It doesn't matter who chooses the target. Preacher's ability is still controlled by you and therefore would not be able to target True-Name Nemesis.

cdr
02-14-2015, 04:18 PM
As iamajellydonut says, it's an ability controlled by the named opponent and therefore cannot target True-Name Nemesis.

You also can't use your opponent's Task Mage Assembly to kill his TNN naming you.

http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/magic-rules/#R70216

702.16b. A permanent or player with protection can't be targeted by spells with the stated quality and can't be targeted by abilities from a source with the stated quality.

702.16j. "Protection from [a player]" is a variant of the protection ability. A permanent with protection from a specific player has protection from each object the player controls and protection from each object the player owns not controlled by another player, regardless of that object's characteristic values. Such a permanent can't be targeted by spells or abilities the player controls, enchanted by Auras the player controls, equipped by Equipment the player controls, fortified by Fortifications the player controls, or blocked by creatures the player controls, and all damage that would be dealt to it by sources controlled by the player or owned by the player but not controlled by another player is prevented.

iamajellydonut
02-15-2015, 05:17 AM
You also can't use your opponent's Land's Edge to kill his TNN naming you.

To be fair, you couldn't use Land's Edge to kill his Eager Cadet either.

cdr
02-15-2015, 11:27 AM
To be fair, you couldn't use Land's Edge to kill his Eager Cadet either.

I always think it's the same as Seismic Assault for some reason.

shrubs
02-15-2015, 04:28 PM
Ah, makes sense. TNN is still super lame. Thanks for the help guys.